We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely little place to rest your head!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 858 George Street Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
858 George Street Motel
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lovely little place to rest your head!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The location is in the heart of town. After a long day of traveling, I walked into my room to find a spa tub! It was such a treat to soak my weary bones. The host of the motel (Sally) was so eager to help us that we didn't know where to begin our exploration of the town. Its was wonderful treat!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imoobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    34
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
106
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kiwi NZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

These apartments are very nice but make sure you are not on the roadside. We stayed with friends in the very front unit which was great. We stayed the night of a Super 15 rugby match and got to bed after midnight. We never slept at all the cars and idiots walking past kept us awake all night. It was a real shame. Get a unit away from the road.

Room Tip: At the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiNZJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed here one night while on business in Dunedin and would definitely stay again. My room was spacious, clean and had it's own little balcony, which I would have sat on had I arrived earlier. The bathroom was very, very spacious and the spa bath was amazing. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Back your car into a parking space as not much room for turning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

While on business, five of my staff stayed for two nights across 3 different units. We were thrilled with the warm, modern, clean and comfortable units. The units are new but all have been designed with a character feel. The owners were responsive and helpful. It was perfectly located and we will certainly be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BayBoyz102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

First stayed here many years (soon after it opened) and loved it then.
Decided that we needed to treat ourselves to a night away and chose one of the Executive Double Spa Bath units.

The owners (Sally & Michael) were actually away when we stayed, but the service was still as excellent as we had come to expect. They have always delivered a high level of friendly service (even when we were customers at their previous business), so it's good to see that they make sure it continues even if they are away 8-).

The bath and shower were HUGE with plenty of complimentary extras (shampoos, shower cap, bath salts) and luxurious towels. The kitchen area was simple but exactly what we needed, with plenty of room in the fridge to put our treats (including a bottle of Moet that we'd been saving).
The bed was large and comfortable, with plenty of pillows and cushions to lie on/against when reading and watching TV. The TV was a large flat screen, with Sky TV (50 channels) + a DVD player.

The wardrobe was a good size (with spare hangers) and there was a nice blanket in the drawer if we had needed it. Which we didn't - as the heater was excellent and got the room warm very quickly, especially with the good quality curtains.

We particularly liked the table and chairs on the balcony, giving us another "living area" if we wanted.

Having stayed in many hotels and motels around the world, we can definitely say that 858 should be at the top of your list if you are staying in Dunedin.

Room Tip: 858 is within walking distance to town. If you end up at the Dunedin Casino at the end of your eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nznigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Excellent one bedroom apartment. Very comfortable, extremely clean and spacious. Apartment is a generous size with good chattels. Sally and Mike very obliging nothing is too much bother. The kitchen has a two ring hot plate and microwave. If I were to find anything to improve I would probably add an oven but not a major. Close to the University without being too close... Will be going back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishsueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Unfortunately there was a problem with our booking, but they more than made up for it by upgrading us to a larger one. No hassle at all. They were happy and quick to help with a high chair and the broken heater.

The motel from the outside is ecclectic and quite charming. Inside our room felt like a European house, lots of wood. A warm feel and not "modern", however it was not worn or dirty.

Easy 20min walk to the center of town.

Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank droyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
1.4 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 858 George Street Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 858 George Street Motel

Property: 858 George Street Motel
Address: 858 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#4 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 858 George Street Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
858 George Street Hotel Dunedin
858 George Street Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing