We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and comfortable ”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
858 George Street Motel
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Looking for a place to break the journey south. Found great 1 bedroom unit with single bed in living for the boy. Ground floor with parking outside. Good facilities and very clean and tidy. Awesome shower pressure and extractor meant a good clear mirror in the am.
Owner had turned heating on earlier in day so we arrived to a cosy warm suite with good lighting and blackout curtains. Can open windows for fresh air- always a plus.
The only downside was how bright the alarm clock was (first world problems).

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed two nights in may 14 .wonderful service , needed to get some emails done for work .
my computer crashed on this trip , so owners printed and send off emails for me .
Rooms are very warm and cozy .handy location in george street , easy walking distance to town
with excellent choices of resturants .second night cooked meal in unit with good kitchen facililies .
One best motels I have stayed in !

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon1341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

After careful research, I was completely satisfied I booked 858 George St. Stayed 2 nights in Unit 1, a completely separate townhouse consisting of 2xbedrooms with king bed in one room, 2xsingles in the other. Lovely tiled bathroom upstairs has under floor heating, great! Downstairs there is an ample kitchen, dining, lounge area, also a second toilet. Suited our family group of 2 adults/2 teens. Beautifully decorated throughout, spacious and homely. Spotlessly clean. I would definitely stay again and thoroughly recommend to others. Host Michael was very friendly and helpful. He gave us a map and marked places of interest as it was our first visit to Dunedin. A well run establishment!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lo33aine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Double thumbs up! A great place to stay, the two bedroom villas are very good for families ... And thanks especially for returning George the Bear by courier, making our 5 year old very happy.

Highly recommended stopover ...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rod94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Conveniently located in North Dunedin, we found 858 George Street ideal for our needs. Designed in the form of an early 20th century townhouse complex, it offered something quite unique in Dunedin. The room was very clean and well-appointed, though there are no cooking facilities. Service was excellent, with the owners very helpful and friendly. Would heartily recommend this motel as a great place to stay in Dunedin.

Room Tip: We stayed at the rear of the property and enjoyed it. Higher room numbers are closer to George Stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bratsche1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I am a wheelchair user and often find it difficult to pick suitable accommodation. 858 George Street was amazing. A ground floor apartment with a large living cooking area, a separate bed room and a accessible decent bathroom. It was light airy and well thought out accommodation with a dedicated car parking slot outside the room with level access. We had a wonderful stay here. I have read that people found it a bit far to town. My wife and myself in the manual wheelchair managed to "walk" to the town centre and the Botanical Gardens without any trouble so there are some pretty unfit people out there!

Michael and Sally could not have more helpful. They had lots of local information and tips to share and saved us making all sorts of mistakes and helped us to get the best out of our stay in Dunedin. This Motel beat a lot of more pricey hotels that we stayed in on our travel. A great base for your stay.

Room Tip: top floor might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheelchairmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is an amazing motel and we enjoyed our stay last night. Great hosts, the one bedroom unit was roomy, very well eqipped, warm and just perfect for us. Very good value for money and located close to the city centre and restauraunts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandAMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
770 reviews
5.6 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
661 reviews
1.4 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#21 of 61 in Dunedin
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 858 George Street Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 858 George Street Motel

Address: 858 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £58 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 858 George Street Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
858 George Street Hotel Dunedin
858 George Street Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing