We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very handy to city!”
Review of Alexis Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexis Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We found Alexis very handy to the city and the off street parking a plus! Voted coziest bed for our whole trip. Couldn't be happier.

Slightly over zealous housekeeping knocking at our door right on ten o'clock was the only slight grizzle - certainly glad we didn't drink to much New Years Eve!!

Keep up the great work, new management is wonderful

Room Tip: most comfortable bed in a long time, including our international travel too! great to have cooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed two nights in dunedin. excellent central location and the host was most helpful! we needed to contact our next stop urgently and she assisted us in contacting the person and making the necessary changes. She was most helpful in providing us with information around dunedin as well :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 622Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

WE use the Alexis Motor Lodge when we have to visit Dunedin. I find the motel to be comfortable, handy for the town centre, very clean and very quiet. Robyn and staff are very helpful and friendly. we have tried other motels but after finding the Alexis, we would not stay anywhere else. for two people the Studio rooms are very roomy, if you prefer a bath then book the studio with a spa bath well worth the little bit extra ,. The kitchen areas are a bit wee, but don't find any ;problem with that, they have all you need for your stay, Like some other motels that we stayed at they don't like you cooking fishy food, but I agree with that rule, fish does tend to be smelly when you are cooking it, and not very pleasant. The Motel for anyone who needs to visit the Hospital, it is the nearest one and in easy walking distance. Fully recommend this Motel.

Room Tip: All the rooms that we have booked have been very quiet, even the room down at the front, you get no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RITAANN883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Alexis Motor Lodge in November having booked a couple of days in advance by phone. On arrival we found we had been upgraded to a 2-bedroom suite which had been freshly painted and the extra room was much appreciated, the living area was quite small but the bathroom was large. Both bedrooms were a good size, one had queen bed and the other had a queen plus single, all very clean and tidy. There was also a kitchenette in the room with plenty of kitchen utensils, a guest laundry and clothes line. The sofa was very uncomfortable and Robyn our host was very receptive when I advised her of this. They are in the throes of renovating the motel and she undertook to organise to replace the sofa.

This motel is the closest to Dunedin's shops in George Street and easy walk to restaurants, the Octagon and other sights. There is a restaurant and dairy just across the street and others in the next block so a very convenient location. Robyn made us feel very welcome and even though there are lots of renovations taking place there was no noise from workmen and traffic noise was minimal.

I think these owners are making a real effort to re-do this motel and I wish them well with their efforts.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morris80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Robyn the new owner is so friendly and helpful. We (a family of four) were really happy to be able to stay in a 2 bedroom hotel room so central in Dunedin. We are not fond of soulless high rises. The beds were SO comfortable and so were the pillows (not like the pancake flat ones we'd had up to then in NZ). Thoroughly recommend Alexis Motor Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The rooms were small. The only way to cook is to turn on the hob and once you do that, the ventilator stinks of used oil. Terrible. The kitchen is tiny and that adds to the problem. Worst still, they do not allow cooking of seafood including fish. So much for encouraging a healthy lifestyle. I have stayed in other places which allow cooking of seafood and the room do not have that nauseating smell of food. The lady at the reception is polite and friendly but there is only so much one person can do when there seems to be so many issues. The definition of "vacant clean" is low with housekeeping not making up the beds properly and forgetting to top up coffee and tea bags. Overall, there are many motels to choose from for the price they charge which provide better services.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael828282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobHiggs, Owner at Alexis Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2015

Apologies for the delay in responding. Im sorry that our property did not meet your expectations, however at the time of your visit I had only just taken ownership of the motel and there were a number of issues that needed to be addressed, staff performance being one of them. As you will see from more recent reviews, not only staff performance but the property has a whole as improved drastically. Regarding our policy around cooking seafood in the units, we have recently had to close a unit for a number of days to get odors professionally removed so as you can imagne this is not ideal for us during high demand periods. Please get in touch via email if you would like us to provide some healthy alternatives to cooking seafood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Rooms are small. We had to sleep in the hall. Really tiny for its price. Housekeeping staff are terrible. They dont know how toale the beds professionally and they did not change our linen when they serviced the room.
Management does not allow cooking of seafood. They turned off the heater by turning off the fuses which I thought was very rude. Management claims its due to worries about fire safety. Well, if there are such worries, why supply cheap fan heaters then? Arent the hospitality properties checked for fire safety by the fire authorities? Why do they allow such fire hazards to be installed for use?
Carpark is small and very sloppy. Difficult to pack boot and move passengers.
Housekeepers did not bother to refill coffee bags.
Washing and drying is expensive. 7 kiwi per 5kg load and its not 24 hours.
Only one staff on duty so while the staff is polite and genuinely trying to solve all the housekeeping and maintenance problems, there are front office duties to attend to.

Way overpriced.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N828282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
767 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#20 of 61 in Dunedin
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
661 reviews
0.9 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.2 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexis Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Motor Lodge

Address: 475 George Street | North Dunedin, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £83 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexis Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexis is a high quality motel with a classic garden setting - right in the heart of the city. Conveniently located near Otago University, Dunedin Public Hospital, Forsyth Barr Stadium, the Dunedin Railway Station, Otago Museum, and a wide array of exciting Dunedin attractions. Stroll a few blocks through the the city's café and restaurant scene towards the Octagon, browse our fashion precinct made famous by the I.D Fashion Show, or jump on a bus out to the St. Clair Esplanade. Alexis has a North facing, sunny outlook with a variety of room configurations from Studios through to one and two bedroom units, which will suit Solo travellers, Couples or Family groups. Robyn & John pride themselves on friendly, helpful hospitality, and clean comfortable units. After 10+ years of owning accommodation in Dunedin, Robyn & John have a wealth of local knowledge to share and can help you plan your day, arrange tours, or suggest an itinerary to optimize your visit if you need them to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexis Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Motor Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing