We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A large B&B, not a boutique hotel, good though...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
160 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A large B&B, not a boutique hotel, good though...”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed here in October 2011. Nice place, comfortable bedroom and a pretty good location in Dunedin. But, it's a bit of a stretch to call the place a boutique hotel. It's more like a nice largish B&B which the owners have stretched it to become a hotel. So, it's neither. I'd still recommend staying here. I was well looked after and the location is good. But it's not a boutique!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBlinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    90
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
13
173
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New plymouth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Very reasonable priced rooms , had a smallish room but thats probably because i booked last thing , i like the ambience and quaintness of lodgings so this ticked all the boxes for me , great host , great nights sleep , and a scrummie breakfast , i will definitely be back sometime.

Room Tip: If you intend to walk to town and back the hills are really quite steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The wife and I arrived in Dunedin in the early afternoon to this beautiful B&B in the heart of Dunedin. We arrived a bit later than we expected due to the still-snowy weather in Queenstown (we were traveling during the storm that nearly shut the whole south island down), but were were met by the extremely friendly and helpful manager and his loyal dog, Baron (we missed our pups from back home, so it was great to have a dog to pet!).

Upon checking in, we informed the manager that we had a nature tour booked in the early afternoon and if there was anywhere close by to eat so we could make it back to Brothers in time for our pick-up. He pointed us in the right direction (about a five minute walk to The Octogon) and then said that he would call the tour company and tell them to pick us up in downtown so we didn't have to come back to the hotel! Sure enough, the tour company picked us up right where the manager said they would and we had a great day. Brothers is also within short walking distance to the Speight's Brewery so you don't have to worry about driving after the tour (just stumble back to your room), although the hill back to the hotel is quite steep.

Breakfast was great, coffee and tea were brought out promptly and every request was catered to.

The only minor complaint I had was about the quality of the room. While it was clean and comfortable, it was quite small and fairly plain. We had an excellent view of downtown Dunedin (breathtaking at night) but I guess we expected more since we were on our honeymoon. Please don't take this as we were totally disappointed with our stay, but the room fell slightly below our expectations since were were not on just a normal holiday.

All in all, though, I would stay at Brothers again...the service, location and atmosphere of the hotel more than makes up for what the room lacks.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptheodore81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2011

The hotel is very centrally located (although it is a steep walk back up from the centre) and in a beautiful old building. I would definitely stay here again, although I would book a slightly bigger room. By the time we booked for the rugby world cup only the smallest room was left and it is small (although the website is very clear that it is small). There is no room for a wardrobe or cupboard.
The owner, Rod, is a wonderful host and extremely helpful. Free wine was provided every afternoon in the lounge and Rod was brilliant at advising on the best trips to make from the city, the best places to eat and what time was best to visit the different attractions. It was also great to have breakfast included in the price as so few hotels in NZ do.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The boutique hotel was wonderful, inviting and felt just like home. A wonderful host and fabulous location made our stay in Dunedin a lovely memory.

We would recommend to anyone who loves a fist class experience with an amazing and healthy breakfast!!! And the beautiful sounds of those church bells in the morning and late day were magical.

Kauna & Gregory

Room Tip: TOP FLOOR is the best views and you can feel the winds breezes at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kauna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

A lovely place to stay. Like being home from home.
The host was extremely helpful and very nice.
The rooms are all different but that's what adds to the charm of the place.
Close to town.
Would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lottie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Small rooms with no cupboard space. Energetic uphill walk but close to centre. Poor service - a request for fresh milk was met with incredulity. Owner is rude and smug, how dare an ungracious guest not agree with his overblown opinion of his hotel. If boutique means small, charmless, under-furnished with high prices and poor service this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PC0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrothersHotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
I do not believe a Guest who does not return the key or settle the bill/ does a runner has the right to say anything. Rude Guests are few and far between but this Lady is in a league of her own and her tantrums had to be seen to be believed

It is tempting to relate the full story about her demanding and dismissive behavour and her outbursts and rudeness with no regard to other Guests... Cringe!!

She managed one night in our “charm less and under furnished” Hotel, and for another three nights, before absconding in the early hours with out paying and with the key .

The Police are taking an interest in her as they advise me it is fraud to deliberately cancel a card. You get the impression she has done this before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.9 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brothers Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brothers Boutique Hotel

Property: The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Address: 295 Rattray Street | Carpark- GPS directions: 10 Bishops Rd, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a special place in Dunedin. Relax in our European style family run Boutique Hotel close to inner city amenities with spectacular views of the City and harbour. Extensive renovations have been done to this former Christian Brothers 1920's stately residence transforming it into elegant heritage accommodation with 15 bedrooms and all with modern tiled en suites. The Brothers offers a mixture of convenience, history, charm, elegance and tranquillity, with the building retaining much of its original grandeur. Unfortunately the Hotel is unsuitable for infants, babies and young children under 16 and can't be accommodated. The Brothers is also quite different from anything else in Dunedin. The intention during the refurbishment was to be sympathetic to the building's history and wherever possible the original character has been retained. As a result most of our rooms are of a size often found in European Cities and maybe considered small by some. If room size is important to you or the prospect of walking 10 minutes uphill from the city centre is a daunting issue then other options maybe more suitable for you . A welcoming drink is offered early evening in the main Guest lounge. Book direct with us for better price and room options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brothers Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brothers Boutique Hotel Dunedin
Brothers Boutique Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing