We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not particularly comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not particularly comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2008

A strange little place. It is true that there are character touches, especially in the Cathedral Room, but the decor is for the most part modern, and the rooms on the very top floor are completely modernized, so don't book if what you're expecting is a character hotel. (Other reviews misled me on this front.) The place is indeed spotless, and there's no denying that the views from the terrace are terrific, yet the place lacks a certain comfort factor. The bed, for starters, is not particularly comfortable -- certainly nothing like the other beds that I slept in during a three-week journey around NZ and Australia. The TV's very small, and I felt guilty watching it, as I was sure that the sound must be travelling to the room next door. And there's no closet (you have to hang your clothes on the back of the door), and only a little wicker thing with two baskets by way of drawer space. If you're staying for a single night, none of this would be an issue, but those wishing a longer stay should think twice. And, as others have noted, the rooms are indeed small. If I'd been sharing the room with a partner, we would have been continually tripping over one another -- and as it was, with the lack of closet, drawers, and counter space (the bathroom has only a sink and shower), there was nowhere to put MY stuff, never mind anyone else's!

Another strange thing contributed to my discomfort. Upon my arrival, the hostess offered me a glass of wine. When I came downstairs after hanging up my clothes to take her up on the offer, I heard her on the phone complaining (loudly) that the guests at the hotel were all a bunch of drunks. From that point on, it was very hard to shake the feeling that the friendliness of the host and hostess was insincere. (I had been offered a glass of wine, but was going to be judged, apparently, for accepting it!)

You should also note that breakfasts are quite poor. Day after day it's exactly the same: dull cereal with canned fruit (ugh) and/or toast with marmalade and jam. Certainly not what you would expect from a place characterizing itself as a "boutique" hotel. Again, probably not an issue if you're staying for only one night, but I myself could not face it after two days.

  • Liked — Views from the terrace; cleanliness
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable bed; the breakfasts
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Labonneviveuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrothersHotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2008
I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us.

Since opening just over 2 years ago we have had just over 5000 room nights and only 2 guests (including you) were dissatisfied with the comfort of the bed. We are always open to peoples views and really the feedback we have received has been excellent, to such an extent ,we would not want to change anything. The room you stayed in has been occupied for 403 nights (7 with you) and you are the first to show disappointment with the room and it;s facilities and layout. It was good enough for the Governor General of New Zealand who expressed a desire to return

Your comment about the "hostess complaining loudly about the guests at the Hotel were all a bunch of drunks" is simply not true and you have clearly misinterpreted a conversation.

The feedback on the breakfast to date is such that we will continue the existing offering.

It is a pity you did not express any of your issues while you were here . I guess anyone looking at your comments can make up there own mind as to whether they are giving a true and fair picture of the Hotel.

I guess you can not please everyone all the time.

Yours faithfully

Rod McMeeken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    89
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
170
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2008

The building is, by any standards unusual. You wouldn't call it pretty, but you certainly would call it characterful. If you've had enough of corporate chain hotels this is a refreshing change - large comfortable lounge, equally imposing dining room and adequate bedroom.
The location is good - easy walk into the town centre, but far enough out to have its own car park.

The best aspect of this hotel is the owner himself. We had a bit of a flight connection disaster developing and only through his persistence and commitment to helping us out was it resolved. He went way beyond anything we could have reasonably expected to help us.

We were checked in by the owner's daughter who has clearly inherited her father's helpful attitude. She was unfailingly enthusiastic and gave us great advice on local eateries and trips.

Breakfast is fairly basic, but adequate.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — Dunedin itself
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravellingguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2007

We stayed one night at Brothers. Location is convenient we were able to walk to city center. Our room was small but spotless. The furnishings are simple with a slight modern edge. We appreciated the free internet access and menus of local restaurants in the lounge. Host was very helpful; he helped us re-arrange our itinerary for the next day so it would be more efficient.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank xixixi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2007

Property is a converted Christian Brother's residence - structure is really solid with heavy doors and thick walls. Many rooms lead out to shared balcony with awesome view of the city and the harbor. Common room is really lovely. Free internet access. Easy walk (5 mins) to Octagon and very close to Speight's Brewery!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelsonweekends71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

This was a warm, friendly place near to the main city centre but up a steep hill. The manager was very helpful. There was a nice big lounge with internet & comfy lounges & friendly labrador. The bedroom though was the smallest we had ever seen- not even room for a chair. Good balcony, bed & bathroom & really nice breakfast.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank daytrippa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2007

Booked the Brothers after positive reviews on this website and stayed for 3 nights. We were not disappointed, Rod and his wife were most welcoming and helpful, the accommodation was very clean and modern and the breakfast very good. The only disadvantages were the lack of storage space in our room (standard room with shared balcony), no wardrobe, drawers or hanging space. The hotel's website claims a 6-minute walk to the city centre - this is possible on roller skates if all traffic lights are in your favour. Returning to the hotel is a stiff uphill climb - at least 15-20 minutes with breathers. Still would recommend the Brothers for its ambience and uniqueness. The highlight of our stay was the Tiarai Gorge Railway, a brilliant half-day excursion and our favourite eatery was the Terrace Resturant (located on the main square) with its Stonegrill cook-your-own meats on hot stones.

  • Liked — Unique and friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Lack of clothing storage and that hill
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2007

I had booked my stay through accomodation site whotif, the rate was very reasonable, I was travelling with my Grandma and we were only in Dunedin for 1 night, The hotel its self is lovely , it is a great option if you are going to be out all day sight seeing or if you just want a place that is clean and comfortable for the evening, as the rooms are very small as is the bathroom.
All the furnishings and decorations in the room are just lovely, the towels nice and fluffy, Breakfast was served in the dining room, the owner preparing all, it was continental and very adequate, coffee plunger i really enjoyed.
As the location of this hotel is quite hilly we really had no option but to drive into the city to have an evening meal, this was a bit of a night mare as parking was really hard to find. If you are fit you will have no problems.. We drove up to the castle the following morning and visited the chocolate factory, both are worth the visit. Had a nice time and was happy with the hotel, i doubt that i would return to dunedin its self in a hurry as it really did not impress me.

  • Liked — Thinking about the history of the building and
  • Disliked — That it was on a hill,
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EmaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.9 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brothers Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brothers Boutique Hotel

Property: The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Address: 295 Rattray Street | Carpark- GPS directions: 10 Bishops Rd, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a special place in Dunedin. Relax in our European style family run Boutique Hotel close to inner city amenities with spectacular views of the City and harbour. Extensive renovations have been done to this former Christian Brothers 1920's stately residence transforming it into elegant heritage accommodation with 15 bedrooms and all with modern tiled en suites. The Brothers offers a mixture of convenience, history, charm, elegance and tranquillity, with the building retaining much of its original grandeur. Unfortunately the Hotel is unsuitable for infants, babies and young children under 16 and can't be accommodated. The Brothers is also quite different from anything else in Dunedin. The intention during the refurbishment was to be sympathetic to the building's history and wherever possible the original character has been retained. As a result most of our rooms are of a size often found in European Cities and maybe considered small by some. If room size is important to you or the prospect of walking 10 minutes uphill from the city centre is a daunting issue then other options maybe more suitable for you . A welcoming drink is offered early evening in the main Guest lounge. Book direct with us for better price and room options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brothers Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brothers Boutique Hotel Dunedin
Brothers Boutique Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing