We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel, full of character, for 3 nights. We received a warm welcome from our host with lots of advice on where and when to visit the many places around this lovely city. The only down side was that it was up a VERY steep hill, but that's Dunedin for you! The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable and the views over Dunedin. We ate at a couple of the places which were recommended and were not disappointed. We enjoyed a glass of wine on our first evening there and had the opportunity to chat to other guests. All in all a very good experience.

Room Tip: We had a room on the same floor as the car park which was great and had wonderful views. It also sav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyinLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    89
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
170
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our family of 4 (incl 2 teenage boys) stayed for 2 nights in late September 2013. This is a lovely hotel especially if you like places with some history and character. I'd requested a room close to the only available twin room (in which our boys stayed) and unfortunately this meant we ended up with a small room with a tiny ensuite. It was still very pleasant but not really big enough for 2 adults and luggage. On the plus side we enjoyed use of the lovely and spacious lounge area and the breakfasts were great. We had no difficulty with the walk down to town and back - didn't find the hill a struggle at all. Our host Rod was very welcoming and helpful. Ciaran (the owners's son) took over the hosting duties on our 2nd evening. He is a charming and interesting young man who we wish the very best of luck to with his music career! We will definitely be back on our next trip to NZ in the hopefully not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brothershotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you Kerrie for your kind words and comments about The Brothers and for encouraging Ciaran in his music.
With respect to the room size I have endeavoured to highlight where ever possible to all considering staying at The Brothers that most of our rooms are considered small (particularly for New Zealand). We could have knocked walls down and made the rooms bigger and become like any other Hotel, but we wanted to retain the integrity of the building and it's history. If character and charm is important then I think you will find The Brothers to your liking. We have a charming breakfast room and a very special Guest lounge. There are not too many places left like this anywhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed one night at this uniquely individual hotel whilst on a quick tour of the South Island. Very clean, comfortable and quiet. Thoroughly enjoyed a glass of wine with the host prior to heading down the hill for dinner. We loved Dunedin and enjoyed a meal at Scotia located not far from the hotel. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank penbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

It is lovely the hosts make you feel welcome. It is a quick walk down hill to town and a cheap taxi ride back. The rooms are warm, well presented, the shower has a wet floor that almost runs the wrong way...into the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndseyrae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. Lovely room with a kingsize bed, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and the hotel is in a great location. Great host, very friendly welcoming and helpful. Evening chat with wine is a nice touch. We would certainly go back if we get the chance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a charming place with more of a feel of a B&B than a boutique hotel. There are a LOT of stairs. Make sure you park around the back to get your luggage at least up one level before you start. Anyone who has a disability or a lot of luggage should really think again about this place. But the stairs are worth climbing for what the host described as 'the best view in Dunedin', which it probably is. Completely stunning.

The host was lovely, and clearly has a lot of good advice for tourists. But we were not tourists, we were there for a book tour. One of us is a Kiwi anyway. The host didn't really hear this, and kept telling us about all the sights we really must see, even though we were in a hurry with my partner's nephew waiting for us to check in so he could take us for dinner. But it's better to have too much enthusiasm than none at all.

When I asked for soya milk and gluten free bread they couldn't have been more helpful. I should have let them know in advance, but as soon as I did let them know they went out and got both. The host was going to be away for a couple of days and although someone else was supposed to come and do breakfast, they never did. On that morning we were faced with a locked kitchen and a deserted hotel. We went into Dunedin and had a lovely breakfast somewhere else, and this really was just a genuine mistake (you will probably get breakfast fine if you go there) but when we complained all they offered was to take the cost of the breakfast we didn't have off our bill. My partner had a radio interview that morning and it was a bit of a hassle having to go elsewhere.

The bedding is that awful arrangement they have in a lot of places in NZ - two sheets with an unwashed duvet between them. But I had worse than this in one of the most expensive hotels in Wellington, so it's not unusual at all.

Room Tip: The corner room on the top floor has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brothershotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
I am sure you are a better person for airing your thoughts. The ranting to our Housekeeper over the missed complimentary breakfast however was over the top and unnecessary. Though very regrettable it was the first time since opening eight years ago that this has happened. A genuine misunderstanding with my our Housekeeper which I must take the blame for as I said in my email to your partner on my return.a few days later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

The hotel website is perfectly accurate and the welcome could not have been warmer. We did enjoy the cameraderie of the cocktail hour the owner hosted, and the room and WiFi were just fine. One should bear in mind this is a vertical hotel, so plan on stairs. The owner was kind and would have helped schlep our bags had we needed his help. Also, the short distance to town is down a significant hill so we took a taxi to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.9 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brothers Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brothers Boutique Hotel

Property: The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Address: 295 Rattray Street | Carpark- GPS directions: 10 Bishops Rd, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a special place in Dunedin. Relax in our European style family run Boutique Hotel close to inner city amenities with spectacular views of the City and harbour. Extensive renovations have been done to this former Christian Brothers 1920's stately residence transforming it into elegant heritage accommodation with 15 bedrooms and all with modern tiled en suites. The Brothers offers a mixture of convenience, history, charm, elegance and tranquillity, with the building retaining much of its original grandeur. Unfortunately the Hotel is unsuitable for infants, babies and young children under 16 and can't be accommodated. The Brothers is also quite different from anything else in Dunedin. The intention during the refurbishment was to be sympathetic to the building's history and wherever possible the original character has been retained. As a result most of our rooms are of a size often found in European Cities and maybe considered small by some. If room size is important to you or the prospect of walking 10 minutes uphill from the city centre is a daunting issue then other options maybe more suitable for you . A welcoming drink is offered early evening in the main Guest lounge. Book direct with us for better price and room options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brothers Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brothers Boutique Hotel Dunedin
Brothers Boutique Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing