We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good. I'd go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Ranked #28 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Just visiting Dunedin for 1 night and found this place to be good in all aspects. I'd recommend. Owners incl their son were helpful - possibly they try too hard! And id have liked a cooked breakfast so went into town which is very close. Overall though - good

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Dunedin was our first stop on our 2 week trip and thanks to Rod (hotel owner) we started off on the right foot. He was extremely friendly and knowledgeable of the city. The room was great, the location was great and plenty of parking. He directed us to a fine pizza joint and gave us tips for the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItAintFlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brothershotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dunedin offers so much and in so many ways and it is a pleasure to pass on information about it. We travel a lot ourselves and we always appreciate it when some local can provide some interesting options. Thank you for your nice comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Truly a place with a heart and soul. Fantastic hosts and stylish renovation. Totally spotless , quiet and it feels like " home" . Extremely comfortable and welcoming. The breakfast is also great. You shall feel very welcome here. Also great location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We had two nights at this hotel. The sitting room is lovely, spacious and light and a view across to the old cathedral. The Breakfast room is also pleasant and the breakfast was very good.
We had booked the small doubles for two couples. Ours was upstairs with a view across to the Cathedral. The other room was downstairs and in the porch area by a front door that opened and closed regularly. When we requested a move to a different room, the friendly, helpful proprietor changed dramatically and it took some time to calm him down. Very strange! We were almost out on the street! As can be seen by my previous reviews of our time in NZ, we are not complainers and take most things in our stride.
Also I think Boutique is rather a misnomer - I did not think the rooms I saw justified that description.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brothershotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Firstly, it was a pity the reviewer was not present for any of the discussions.
Mean spiritedness and a condescending attitude are unfortunate human traits that some out there have quite mastered. Fortunately we do not come across it very often and in fact, hardly at all at The Brothers. Having spent years in hospitality as a guide, a tour operator and a Hotelier you become a good judge of character. When one of this group came into the lounge and interrupted a conversation with another Guest a flag went up. It was his manor and the body language which indicated this was not going to be the norm. There was a concern that the room would be noisy. I endeavoured to allay his concerns by indicating that only once in eight years (and after approx. 1200 room nights) that someone did find that room noisy. It is a quiet Hotel.
Sometime later in the evening when they came back from the city, I was greeting a late check in when the two gentlemen from the party made a “scene” with condescending and somewhat threatening overtones. I should have followed my instincts and insist they go somewhere else at that time. As I said to them “this is a happy place” and if you are not happy then perhaps another option might be more suitable. It was late and unreasonable to ask them all to leave at that time of night. I upgraded one couple for the second time to a Super king with no additional charge (they originally had booked two small Queens and I had put one couple in a standard Queen). With this gesture the Guest apologised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed in February 2014, we booked the small double room and although it was small, it was perfectly formed. The service at check in was very good and welcoming. We were given information of trips that we could take and information about restaurants in the area. Very helpful, informative host. Breakfast was a very good continental one which included cereal, fresh fruit salad, plums in syrup, toast etc etc. very good. We really enjoyed our stay and would return.

Room Tip: The small room is what it says, small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We loved our stay at The Brothers Boutique Hotel. The view, the architecture & the southern hospitality made this a highlight during our 2 weeks in NZ. Being involved in the hospitality business, as well as living in Charleston, SC, we found our host to be most gracious & welcoming.
From wine time to breakfast, everything was well done. We would recommend this anyone traveling through Dunedin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here on Dec. 31st for New Years and we both were impressed by this little charming hotel. Dunedin is a fairly historic city and this hotel offered old style charm, and was comfortable to stay in. The owner/manager stayed up for us (we were arriving around 7pm and that is the latest check in unless pre-arranged. We arrived just after 7p. The manager was found chatting with other guests in the large open sitting room. It felt like we had just come in to his home and he was helping us get situated and comfortable as his personal guests. He gave us some excellent information about the city and what to do (his recommendations we did follow up on - including going tot he steepest street in the world!). My only regret is only having one night to stay at the hotel!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top level have access to the balcony overlooking the city - great spot for morning coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank areiter12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
6.3 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
640 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
748 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#18 of 61 in Dunedin
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#39 of 61 in Dunedin
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brothers Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brothers Boutique Hotel

Address: 295 Rattray Street | Carpark- GPS directions: 10 Bishops Rd, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £82 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a special place in Dunedin. Relax in our European style family run Boutique Hotel close to inner city amenities with spectacular views of the City and harbour. Extensive renovations have been done to this former Christian Brothers 1920's stately residence transforming it into elegant heritage accommodation with 15 bedrooms and all with modern tiled en suites. The Brothers offers a mixture of convenience, history, charm, elegance and tranquillity, with the building retaining much of its original grandeur. Unfortunately the Hotel is unsuitable for infants, babies and young children under 16 and can't be accommodated. The Brothers is also quite different from anything else in Dunedin. The intention during the refurbishment was to be sympathetic to the building's history and wherever possible the original character has been retained. As a result most of our rooms are of a size often found in European Cities and maybe considered small by some. If room size is important to you or the prospect of walking 10 minutes uphill from the city centre is a daunting issue then other options maybe more suitable for you . A welcoming drink is offered early evening in the main Guest lounge. Book direct with us for better price and room options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brothers Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brothers Boutique Hotel Dunedin
Brothers Boutique Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing