We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull Stay at the Brothers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Spent 2 weeks in New Zealand last April. Stayed in Dunedin 4 nights at the Brothers Boutique
Hotel. Close to downtown, but not to close, quiet nights with beautiful views from the balcony.
Elegant furnishings the breakfast with abundant fresh fruit the best breakfasts I had in New Zealand. The proprietor was helpful made great recommendations for our daily adventures.
Proprietor recommended the Albatross sanctuary and the Larnch Castle on the hill both must see's in our book. Next time in New Zealand its a stop for sure.

Mike and Anna
Eugene, Ore USA

Room Tip: Balcony rooms the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here one nice. Owners are really nice - but the place is a bit tired and a bit overpriced compared to other B and Bs in NZ cities we stayed in. This one was the most expensive we stayed in over the past two weeks, and some of the little things, like robes and cooked breakfast were absent. The place is well located with great views but needs a bit of an update for the price.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brothershotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were disappointed. We do not consider ourselves a traditional "B& B" as they are usually categorised as 2 to 3 bedrooms. With 15 rooms we are a small Hotel and the cost structures , management, marketing, in fact everything is considerably different.
Describing The Brothers as being a bit tired is unfortunate. Yes it is 94 years old but the ensuites are new as is all the plumbing, electrical, ducting, fire rating, strengthening and heating. It is what it is and fortunately most people are happy with their experience here but in saying this I do respect your views. Kind regards Rod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This "4 star Hotel" is simply a well located Backpacker HOSTEL which is marketed to gain bookings as the more that "come and run" the better it suits the owner/manager who simply charges exorbitant prices for less than 4 star. A communal fridge for 15 rooms? Not 4 star! Small, cramped rooms? not 4 star. We arrived at 4:30, left at 4:55 and were notified at 5:00 pm that it cost us $350 for disagreeing with the one sided attitude of the owner/manager who ignored the first two requests to see the room as he preferred to extol the virtues of Dunedin and surrounds to HIS satisfaction. On the third request to see the room his manner became petulant and aggressive saying "This is not how we do things here!" Having clarified that we simply wanted to see the room we were shown two options. Small and smaller were the choices! Had we been out for 1 or 2 nights away from the humdrum of everyday life this property would have sufficed but as part of an extended road trip with several bags and refrigeration needs, this property failed to deliver 4 star standards.
This is not the first scathing review of this property on Trip Advisor and where there is smokethere is certainly fire. The question is, why does Trip Advisor appear to be ignoring these reviews and not re appraising the standards of this property which is a 2 Star Backpacker Hostel or B&B at best.
Owner remains friendly unless you disagree with him. We were charged for nil services and have not been the first or last to feel ripped off by this deceptive practice which will be taken up with the Otago Chamber of Commerce as well as Tourism New Zealand. Booking sites Must take some Duty of Care when allowing self regulated ratings to be offered to their clients.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brothershotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

When you book a room in a hotel or indeed any service – airline, concert, an endless list really, you enter into a contract which then becomes subject to that establishment’s cancellation policy. If you wish to view rooms and then make your decision on whether or not they suit you, then we suggest that you try ‘walk in’ accommodation arrangements for your next trip. Spewing vitriolic reviews (twice) on the internet will not gain you a refund when you clearly were outside the cancellation times in the busiest month of the year. You were told this before you left. You made the decision.
Our rooms, hotel, and all amenities – and cancellation policy, are clearly laid out on our website with photographs. There is no attempt to cover up – that (we repeat ourselves again) the hotel is the former residence of the Christian Brothers. Some of the rooms are small in keeping with the character and history of the building. It’s not really that hard to get your head around but it seems to be for some people.
This latest review I would have thought violates Trip Advisor's own guidelines of “This person already reviewed this business” being his partner 5 days ago with “If you want a backpacker…. “. Interesting she managed to rate the sleep quality from somewhere else….
What a pity we don’t get to review the ‘surly, rude and offhand’ potential guests that you were.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Well positioned for centre of town on the top of a hill, so a good stretch for the legs after dinner. Basic room, but very comfortable. Busy B&B. We walked to the Railway Station, The Settlers Museum and the Botanical Gardens. Could have done with another day to get out to the bird sanctuary, but only booked for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank killywhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our group (3 couples) spent one night at this property recently. I don't know where they are hiding the room photographed on their web site. Each of our rooms was extremely small and the view (again unlike the one of their web site) was of the side green fence, the clothes line and the carpark. Very disappointing and misrepresented. Pamela S

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brothershotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

I am sorry Pamela you were disappointed with your stay and you were unaware of the nature, history and style of the accommodation that was booked for you. It is clearly a place you would not have booked yourself. Photos of all rooms your group occupied are shown in the online booking area under room photos and details. The feedback we receive from most of our guests including those booked through Agents/ Operators over the 8 and half years we have been open is such that we would not want to change anything. We make no apology for what is offered as it is what it is. We accept that history, charm and character are not important attributes for everyone. To suggest the Hotel is misrepresenting though is very disappointing given the detailed descriptions and photos provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed two nights in this charming hotel. Rod, the owner is wonderful and immediately made us feel like we had come home. He knows the area intimately and helped us find our way in Dunedin and the surrounding area. The hotel is centrally located but may not be the right choice for absolutely everyone. It is located on a very steep hill so if you go to the town center you have a bit of a 15 minute climb back (great for working off dinner) or a $6 taxi ride back up the hill. Rooms are small but comfy, very clean and quiet. We had a top floor room with outside balcony and magnificent views of Dunedin and the harbor. The hotel previously was the residence of a religious sect of Brothers. Rod and his wife lovingly restored the property and maintained the incredible historical ambience. The stained glass windows and winding staircase and huge great room and breakfast room made us feel that we had stepped back in time. Added benefits were the free parking adjacent to the hotel, free wifi, yummy breakfast every morning and of course the 4pm glass of wine or two or three with Rod in the great room to discuss our day and the new adventures ahead.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Our host looked after us well during our short stay in Dunedin and gave us tips on the best places to visit. The location is nice, with city and harbour views from the communal verandahs on each floor. We wanted to be near the centre for the railway station as we were going on the Taeiri Gorge Railway, and was a nice easy walk downhill. A nice renovated residence with comfortable breakfast room and lounge, and lovely old stairways. Continental breakfast very nice consisting of cafetiere coffee, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals and fruit/seeded/regular toast with jams etc. We booked a small room as we were travelling without much luggage and this was fine for our short visit. The shower room was spotless and we appreciated the tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits in our room. A very nice experience.

Room Tip: Try a larger room if you have big luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.9 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
661 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#20 of 61 in Dunedin
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brothers Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brothers Boutique Hotel

Address: 295 Rattray Street | Carpark- GPS directions: 10 Bishops Rd, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £84 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a special place in Dunedin. Relax in our European style family run Boutique Hotel close to inner city amenities with spectacular views of the City and harbour. Extensive renovations have been done to this former Christian Brothers 1920's stately residence transforming it into elegant heritage accommodation with 15 bedrooms and all with modern tiled en suites. The Brothers offers a mixture of convenience, history, charm, elegance and tranquillity, with the building retaining much of its original grandeur. Unfortunately the Hotel is unsuitable for infants, babies and young children under 16 and can't be accommodated. The Brothers is also quite different from anything else in Dunedin. The intention during the refurbishment was to be sympathetic to the building's history and wherever possible the original character has been retained. As a result most of our rooms are of a size often found in European Cities and maybe considered small by some. If room size is important to you or the prospect of walking 10 minutes uphill from the city centre is a daunting issue then other options maybe more suitable for you . A welcoming drink is offered early evening in the main Guest lounge. Book direct with us for better price and room options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Brothers Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brothers Boutique Hotel Dunedin
Brothers Boutique Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing