We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B with delightful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Zug, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great B&B with delightful hosts”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I stayed with Mary and Pat in April 2011 for 4 nights. Mary and Pat are delightful hosts and offer the best breakfast (warning very rich). I enjoyed a lot staying with them. The House and the rooms are perfect, everything you need is there and very nicely decorated. The House has a Whirlpool (quite useful in Dunedin, as it can get cold) and a beautiful garden. Pat is running an adventures company and is offering Kayaking and Mountain Biking tours. Fantastic place, don't miss to stay here when you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris2488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
50
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Staying at McAuley B& B was an excellent experience. Mary and Pat made us very welcome from the moment we arrived until we left 4 days later. The room was beautifully decorated, the autumn garden was a treat, and each breakfast was something to be experienced. As an added bonus, there was magnificent scenery virtually around the corner on the beautiful Otago Peninsula. This stay was one of the highlights of our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Thanks Mary and Pat. Your are really wonderful hosts. On our trip through the south island we got spoiled at your unique charming place by absolutely comfortable beds. Shame we couldn't stay longer to enjoy your beautiful garden, great home made breakfast and outstanding hospitality. We love to come back. Highly recommended to everyone. Thanks a lot Monika and Enno

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birgine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We really enjoy the stay at McAuley, till now we still remember the rooms, the garden, the breakfast, the night with champagne...... We travel by car, and with the GPS, it is easy to find this B&B, which is near to the 1908 resturant. The rooms are so nice, also the bathrooms with floor heated. We really feel like at home. Pat informed us that Mary have spent 5 years to build such nice garden, also you can enjoy the jacuzzzi under the stars ! From McAuley, it will take around 15-20 minutes to see the penguin with blue eyes free. Also similar time drive the the castle with great view on the road. By the way, the breakfast is the best one during our trip, miss it so much! We really hope we will have chance to travel again to Dunedin, to McAuley again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orangemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

I have arrived at mcauley-glen after a long and exhausting day on the roads and I could not be happier to see the this beautiful specious room - where you have every thing u need in the room including kitchen facilities - not for heavy cooking but good enough for coffee/tea making toasts and light meals. The bathroom has heated flour which was great on the cold evenings and warm robes u can wear.

There is a private corner next to the room as well as many other in the beautifully shaped garden that has many secret spots where you can relax.

But the breakfast - u should be prepared for that - if you won't stop marry she will keep on kooking.... and u will not be able to stop eating since it is all so delicious fluffy pancakes smoothie, fresh fruits, muesli, cooked breakfast - she might serve them all on one breakfast if you won't stop her :)

Same goes for the great dinner you receive with delicious desert.

Also make sure to receive some activities recommendation from them they will offer far better activities than the i-site will...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

My partner & I book-ended our South Island adventure from here. Within a short drive to Dunedin this place afforded the best of both worlds in City access and a quite hideaway for our holiday. The local village provided a few options for evening dining after an afternoon in the City or exploring the peninsula. Mary and Pat were amazing and most gracious hosts! Let me say Mary takes pride in here breakfast - and she delivers a yummy feast!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuidlaren
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

If you're looking for modern comfort ( and I mean the 5 star treatment ! ) but want to be just around the corner from the penguins and albatross then this is the place to be. The house is set in the most beautiful garden, very quiet and yet very convenient for everything the Otago Peninsula has to offer. The breakfasts are to die for and will keep you going for the rest of the day. Your hosts Mary and Pat are very friendly and hospitable and will gladly give you a helping hand to organise your day. There are some good restaurants close by or you can look after yourself ( the rooms include a mini kitchen ) This B & B is a must if you're looking for that personal touch. Pam & Jonathan Wallen, The Netherlands

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanWallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.7 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
626 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Argoed Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Treetops B&B
Treetops B&B
#1 of 1 in Portobello
18 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13 McAuley Road | Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic harbor-side location in Portobello on the Otago Peninsula, 20 minutes from Dunedin city. Set amongst a tapestry of rolling hills, sandy ocean beaches, picturesque bays and inlets. Central to Albatross, Penguin and Seal colonies. Nestled in secluded, tranquil gardens, filled with color, fragrance and birdsong. McAuley Glen Boutique B&B, offers luxury accommodation, private rooms with modern comforts, Jacuzzi spa, sauna, wireless broadband, home style gourmet breakfast/baking, welcome refreshments, and warm relaxed kiwi hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing