We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 April 2012

A fabulous b and b located in the midst of a spectacular rose garden. While the room is beautifully appointed and comfortable, the breakfasts, lovingly prepared by Mary, are outstanding. The first morning she baked muffins and served with clotted cream, followed by fresh fruit and yogurt and finished with poached eggs whole grain toast, and home made meat sausages with fresh herbs from her garden. She called the sausage a "resull". It was so good we asked to have it the next day. She graciously agreed. The next day we had the best pancakes served with fresh berries and other goodies. Our mouth watered the entire time we were in new Zealand thinking about Mary's breakfasts. The b and b, 2 rooms,is located in their home. It is situated in the middle of the phenomenal otago peninsula. Mary insisted we go to" penguin place" which was a real treasure that is a retreat on the coast for penguins. Absolutely perfect location. We were so glad we did not stay in Dunedin.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank EJAdec2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

Great attention to comfort and cleanliness. Welcome tea and cake. Magnificent, generous and extensive breakfast and fine dinner. Good restaurant a few minutes walk.

Good location for exploring Dunedin and the wildlife on Otago Peninsula, hosts very knowledgeable and willing to advise on the best use of our time. Booked excellent tours and trips for us. The recommended evening tour with Sam Neil across his farm and isolated beaches was especially memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan and Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had a wonderful three night stay on the Portobello Island with Mary and Pat. The bed and breakfast is located towards the tip of a windy-roaded island (be aware!), but once you get there, you'll find you won't need to leave that often. There's also a convenient bus stop nearby that takes you into town in case you want to check out the railroad station, the Speight's brewery and of course the Cadbury factory (how could you miss those things?)

Pat took us on a fantastic kayak tour our first morning on the island, circling around to the tip of the island and into the Pacific ocean. He was excellent at spotting the details, including two hiding penguins! We got right up close to seals and their pups, which was a real treat.

Mary and Pat were also super helpful - we had no idea what we were doing when we first got to Dunedin, but Mary is well versed in the area and set up our next two days so that everything fit! They are extremely warm and were a pleasure to talk to - we have to thank them for their numerous music and movie recommendations!

Her breakfasts deserve their own paragraph. You will not need a big lunch or dinner- the courses just keep coming! The pancakes and eggs and various other treats were always delicious - we should have done a few more hikes/kayak trips to keep ahead of them!

We left New Zealand certainly well fed and rested thanks to Mary and Pat :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We had 3 very happy nights staying at this B&B. The room was very comfortable having everything required and especially more than average privacy for a B&B situation. The garden is fabulous and helps make this place special. The food was overwhelming, more than necessary and very tasty. Pat and Mary, the hosts, were full of local knowledge and very happy to advise and assist with making bookings for sightseeing or a range of other activities. We can highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EREorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed with Mary and Pat in November 2011 for three nights. Portobello is a great tourist destination with plenty of outdoor activities and a great little restaurant in the town.
McAuley B&B was a great place to stay at and the website accurately reflects what you will experience there. Mary and Pat are great hosts and certainly go out of their way to give guests a true mainland welcome and experience. The breakfast certainly lived up to its much anticipated expectations and it would be hard to imagine anyone coming away from breakfast not finding something to their liking.
This would be one of the few accomodation providers we would unconditionally recommend as being a place you will love and it is certainly excellent value for money

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tipene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I stayed with Mary and Pat in April 2011 for 4 nights. Mary and Pat are delightful hosts and offer the best breakfast (warning very rich). I enjoyed a lot staying with them. The House and the rooms are perfect, everything you need is there and very nicely decorated. The House has a Whirlpool (quite useful in Dunedin, as it can get cold) and a beautiful garden. Pat is running an adventures company and is offering Kayaking and Mountain Biking tours. Fantastic place, don't miss to stay here when you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris2488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Staying at McAuley B& B was an excellent experience. Mary and Pat made us very welcome from the moment we arrived until we left 4 days later. The room was beautifully decorated, the autumn garden was a treat, and each breakfast was something to be experienced. As an added bonus, there was magnificent scenery virtually around the corner on the beautiful Otago Peninsula. This stay was one of the highlights of our holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbo031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
6.9 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
734 reviews
1.7 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
627 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
463 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Argoed Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Captain Eady's Lookout
Captain Eady's Lookout
#28 of 63 in Dunedin
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 13 McAuley Road | Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: £105 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic harbor-side location in Portobello on the Otago Peninsula, 20 minutes from Dunedin city. Set amongst a tapestry of rolling hills, sandy ocean beaches, picturesque bays and inlets. Central to Albatross, Penguin and Seal colonies. Nestled in secluded, tranquil gardens, filled with color, fragrance and birdsong. McAuley Glen Boutique B&B, offers luxury accommodation, private rooms with modern comforts, Jacuzzi spa, sauna, wireless broadband, home style gourmet breakfast/baking, welcome refreshments, and warm relaxed kiwi hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing