We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional service, wonderful hosts, beautiful views...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Captain Eady's Lookout
Ranked #27 of 59 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional service, wonderful hosts, beautiful views...”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We have just spent three delightful days at this bed and breakfast. Ana and Richard were very warm and welcoming, the rooms were lovely, the views were great and the whole experience was relaxing and uplifting. The food, presentation and service at breakfast was very good. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to others.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrawberryRoadFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    9
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I tend to agree with the review in Nov 2009. Richard, I think, does his best but appears a little forgetful and a reluctant host on occasions. Ana is busy working and cannot always be present to help with breakfast. Our wish to change times for breakfast appeared to be a bit of a problem and the impression given was one of inconvenience. The cold fare was very good but bacon and eggs arrived with the cereal and sausages stayed frozen (we stayed for 3 nights) and an omelette was out of the question. We were offered one egg or two but our reply was never heard.
There is a small resident's lounge with TV but insufficient room if all guests want to use the facilities.
The garden and views from the rear of the property are beautiful. Parking is difficult at the end of the cul-de-sac.
We enjoyed our visit but have reached the conclusion that we felt like naughty schoolchildren much of the time - fearful of being a nuisance. Like naughty schoolchildren we have found this amusing but others may not.
Portobello is lovely and the scenic drive to this hotel is well worth it as long as you leave plenty of time to negotiate the twisty roads.
Handy for Dunedin and the Albatross Centre. Yellow=eye penguins and sea lions can ve seen on arranged trips.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillhendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2011

This is the most welcoming, relaxing, comfortable and beautiful b&b I have been to. The views out over the bay and the breakfast were fantastic, and the rooms clean, comfortable and characterful. Hosts Ana and Richard helped us to explore the peninsular, see some incredible wildlife, enjoy great local food, music, crafts and coffee, and made our stay at Captain Eady's the highlight of our trip around NZ. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Elmo, Minnesota, U.S.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I've been staying at B&Bs for 23 years; this one is my favorite.
The house was nice and comfortable with spectacular views, lovely gardens and local art.
The food was delicious and varied.
The hosts, Anna and Richard, made the experience so much more than just meals and lodging; their hospitality really set them apart from the other places that I've stayed. They
accommodated the quirks of my traveling group with good humor. The interesting and wide-ranging conversations that I had with them are some of my fondest memories of New Zealand.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnesota_Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We stayed here in 2006 especially because the owner is a jazz lover and so is my husband. He was looking forward to some nice chats, but was disappointed. The owner didn't play jazz records because the room upstairs was occupied and he hardly talked about it. Perhaps we caught him on a bad day. We had the room at the back, which was pleasant enough with a view on the side garden. We understood later they had started the B&B only recently and the wife was still working elsewhere at the time. So her husband had to do breakfast. Clearly he had no idea how to be a host, what to put on the table, how to make coffee.
Reading the other reviews obviously it only got better. The house itself is lovely and cosy and the wife is very, very nice indeed! But I don't think I'd stay there again, it's rather out of the way, although it is certainly a very beautiful - and in bad weather a very dangerous! - drive.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catharina3758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2009

I am so glad we stayed at this beautiful home. The host is a jazz expert of some renown, and shared his interest by asking me to tell him about my favorite music. The breakfasts were wonderful, the views stunning, and the other guests were pleasant companions. We would return in a heartbeat.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank rmichaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allahabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2008

Awesum views! Great hosts...very very friendly and helpful...delicious food and very hospitable!Rooms were very comfortable and warm!Would definitely go back,,,to them...

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gauravag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.7 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Treetops B&B
Treetops B&B
#1 of 1 in Portobello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Otago Peninsula Motel
Otago Peninsula Motel
#2 of 2 in Portobello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chy-an-Dowr / Rosemary Retreat
2.4 mi away
Arts Content Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Eady's Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Eady's Lookout

Property: Captain Eady's Lookout
Address: 2 Moss Street | Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Captain Eady's Lookout 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay in large character house , easy access to the Albatross Colony, close to penguins and ocean beaches. Beautiful waterside location, warm in winter, with secluded garden and superb harbour views. Two queen rooms with en suites. A special breakfast in our conservatory. Dinner by arrangement. Antiques and local artwork, a vast jazz collection, internet access. Cats in residence. Rainbow friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Captain Eady's Lookout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing