We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Captain Eady's Lookout
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aria on Bank(Dunedin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
21
9
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
9
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdownstairs roomthoroughly enjoyed our stayb bnew zealandrichardportobellopenguinspeninsulahostalbatrosswifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2013

An unusual title for a review maybe but I was totally confused as to why Richard and Ana decided to run this B&B. Their hearts are not in it and it seems guests are surplus to requirements. As they both work they are anxious to race away in the mornings, once while we were still breakfasting. Consequently there was no real choice of breakfast time and the meal itself was a very lack lustre affair. We really did not feel comfortable at all. As if we were a nuisance.

The downstairs room was clean and comfortable enough, due largely to their housekeeper who took over the baton as they went to work. However there was no fridge in the room and although Richard promised some milk for a cup of tea it never materialized.

I am also confused by some of the glowing reports I have read. I can only think that they visited at weekends and holidays when the hosts were more laid back and maybe spent time on their guests. We certainly saw none of that.

I can only say either give up the day job or the guest house, trying both doesn't work.

Room Tip: Try and get the front room with the view. At least you will have something to look at.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This was our first trip to the Otago Peninsula and how beautiful it was!

However, Captain Eady's was a wee bit unusual and we were left feeling uncomfortable guests at times. This was most noticable because both Richard and Ana were clearly pre-occupied with their full-time work commitments in the city.

On arrival at around 6pm the house was extremely cold to the extent that caused Ana to remark on her return from the office; "Richard this house is freezing!". On leaving 2 days later we also felt a little rushed as it was clear Richard needed to head into the city to his job (Ana having already departed).

That aside, the accommodation itself was most enjoyable. Lots of character, very clean, nice and comfortable with superb views and amazing bird-life. Breakfast was lovely and the warm home-made bread delicious.

The location for access to all the Peninsula's attractions and nature walks could not be bettered in our opinion and provided close encounters with some of New Zealand rarist wildlife.

All in all, an enjoyable experience but I feel Richard and Ana (who are indeed very nice people) should focus their attention more on their guests.This would undoubtedly make a big difference to a visitors all round travel experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morse057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We have just spent three delightful days at this bed and breakfast. Ana and Richard were very warm and welcoming, the rooms were lovely, the views were great and the whole experience was relaxing and uplifting. The food, presentation and service at breakfast was very good. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StrawberryRoadFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I tend to agree with the review in Nov 2009. Richard, I think, does his best but appears a little forgetful and a reluctant host on occasions. Ana is busy working and cannot always be present to help with breakfast. Our wish to change times for breakfast appeared to be a bit of a problem and the impression given was one of inconvenience. The cold fare was very good but bacon and eggs arrived with the cereal and sausages stayed frozen (we stayed for 3 nights) and an omelette was out of the question. We were offered one egg or two but our reply was never heard.
There is a small resident's lounge with TV but insufficient room if all guests want to use the facilities.
The garden and views from the rear of the property are beautiful. Parking is difficult at the end of the cul-de-sac.
We enjoyed our visit but have reached the conclusion that we felt like naughty schoolchildren much of the time - fearful of being a nuisance. Like naughty schoolchildren we have found this amusing but others may not.
Portobello is lovely and the scenic drive to this hotel is well worth it as long as you leave plenty of time to negotiate the twisty roads.
Handy for Dunedin and the Albatross Centre. Yellow=eye penguins and sea lions can ve seen on arranged trips.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillhendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

This is the most welcoming, relaxing, comfortable and beautiful b&b I have been to. The views out over the bay and the breakfast were fantastic, and the rooms clean, comfortable and characterful. Hosts Ana and Richard helped us to explore the peninsular, see some incredible wildlife, enjoy great local food, music, crafts and coffee, and made our stay at Captain Eady's the highlight of our trip around NZ. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews