We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and close to town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 59 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice and close to town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is an interesting old house to stay in, and the hostess is very welcoming. The rooms are clean, and breakfast was plentiful. Our only reservation was not being sure what to expect - I recommend that the owner spends some time improving the website - for example the website gives the impression there are only 3 rooms, while when booking one realises that there are several more. However, we were happy on arrival.

Room Tip: There is a fair bit of noise with (possibly) the water system in the back room we stayed in, but ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albatrossinn, Owner at Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you. Our new updated Website is due to go live in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    77
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
31
83
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and had a room at the back so didn't hear any traffic noises. The bed was very comfortable and so we slept well. The breakfast was very good and the breakfast room was bright and full of character. The host was very helpful pointing out good restaurants and local attractions to visit. The only drawback was that the room did need some refurbishing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianandjoan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albatrossinn, Owner at Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights. My English is not very good, but I was really impressed by the B&B. The house was clean, beautiful and classic. The breakfast room was spacious and bright. Plenty of food and drink was provided. Wifi was free and convenient. We could walk to the downtown for about 15 mins. The host was very nice to us. Thx much for her very valuable advices and help.

Room Tip: Bigger room is $10 more expensive, but it's a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albatrossinn, Owner at Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you. I enjoyed our conversation at Breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our family of 4 enjoyed a very pleasant stay on 7/1/14. It was wonderful to come across such a pleasant, comfortable and traditional B&B. To find the next morning that the bread, jams and muffins were all hand-made was an extra special bonus.

Room Tip: We went for the queen upstairs over the double downstairs. The boys sadly got the bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spok3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albatrossinn, Owner at Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you. Glad you enjoyed you stay with us. It is the little extra touches like home made goodies that make staying at a Bed & Breakfast extra special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Plenty of character in this old Edwardian home! Comfortable ensuite room with all necessary amenities. A short stroll to the centre of town. Great breakfast to get us back on the road! Thanks for the warm hospitality!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank worthwhile_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albatrossinn, Owner at Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we enjoyed meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

great little B&B, good location, less than 10 min walk into town. the house was lovely the rooms were really large and breakfast was great. best of all the lady owner was really lovely and did my washing and drying for free. also wifi was free, which was rare in NZ! would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Flutterbye22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albatrossinn, Owner at Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you, it was a pleasure to have you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I enjoyed my two nights based in this comfortable,old house. It is conveniently located, the room was nice, the bed comfortable and the breakfast really good- freshly prepared fruit salad, home made bread, muffins and lots of choices for spreads and drinks. The owner is friendly and helpful- thanks for upgrading me to a larger room! We hope to be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morsemadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albatrossinn, Owner at Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#6 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
7.0 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 770 George Street | North Dunedin, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character Bed & Breakfast. Friendly, warm & comfortable. Some rooms have Fridge and Microwave. Sky TV in Guest Lounge. Free Wifi/internet, Ensuites, Central Heating, Delicious Continental Breakfast, Great City Location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing