We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like coming home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Feels like coming home, greeting friendly but not false. We stayed one night and all our questions were answered. A neat and tidy homely feel, breakfast was continental and included highly recommended,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TMarkR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

The place was passable. However, I would not stay here again nor can I recommend it.
We stayed for one night. The welcome was very friendly as we arrived late Friday evening. Our hostess was quick to provide dining recommendations and there are many restaurants a 4 block stroll down the street.
Our room was quaint. The bed was not super comfy but serviceable. The room overlooked the main street and kids skateboarding in the street woke me up several times in the night (midnight and 2:00 a.m.). Overall not a very restful night.
Breakfast was lots of bread and cereal. Nothing hot (excluding tea / coffee or toast). We passed on breakfast and headed to the Farmers Market next to the train station. That is what I recommend to everyone, pass on breakfast and go to the framer’s market for breakfast. Tons of interesting food to purchase and eat there.

Room Tip: The Belverder room overlooked the main street and kids skateboarding in the street woke me up severa...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our second stay at Albatross, at least ten years on, and it remains a unique experience. Comfortable, convenient and welcoming - each room is different and full of fascinating stuff and the breakfast is a delight. No need to change a thing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 66Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We are always looking for value for money when we travel. This has it. The host was very friendly, the property was clean, and an ample continental breakfast was included. My only advice for the owners would be some areas needed a coat of paint and the hall leading to the back rooms was a bit cluttered. Overall, though, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank drkaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We loved our stay at The Albatross Inn. The house was warm the moment you stepped through the front door, including the bedrooms. Fabulous hot shower in the en suite. The continental breakfast was delicious with homemade bread, muffins and fresh fruit salad. Glynis, the host, is friendly and it's only a ten minute walk into town. Everything the advert said is true. Wish we could have stayed longer. Will definitely stay at The Albatross when next in Dunedin.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherrilyn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

An atmospheric house with lovely host Glynis who is very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit salad, home made muffins, yoghurt,bread spreads and percolated coffee or tea. House is very well placed and in walking distance to centre of town. Limited off street parking but plenty of on street parking available.

Room Tip: Ask for the back as quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Intonati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our stay at Albatross was a great value in a fantastic city - especially since you get a filling breakfast (when restaurants in NZ are so expensive). It was close to the city centre, with lots of shops and restaurants nearby, as well as lovely places to walk. Glynis was an incredibly accommodating host and really went the extra mile for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LizzCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
733 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
291 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hulmes Court Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 61 in Dunedin
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 770 George Street | North Dunedin, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: £49 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character Bed & Breakfast. Friendly, warm & comfortable. Some rooms have Fridge and Microwave. Sky TV in Guest Lounge. Free Wifi/internet, Ensuites, Central Heating, Delicious Continental Breakfast, Great City Location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing