We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but thankful for the earplugs.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Bluestone on George is a great motel/apartments located about 5 min walking distance from the shops/bars etc.,. We stayed here for 4 nights whilst in Dunedin for the Rugby World Cup. They had ample customer parking which was off road and the whole feel of the accommodation and facilities was modern and bright and immaculate. The reception was stacked with ideas of things to do and a laptop was available for general use. The small lounge also served drinks in the evening. Our room to accommodate the 3 of us was modern and bright and was well equipped. Double and single bed, sofa, tv, small balcony, kitchenette with microwave, washer and dryer and they even provided washing powder on a daily basis. The bathroom had lovely underfloor heating and a deep jacuzzi bath/shower, which proved a little difficult for our young son. A great selection of DVDs were also available to watch from reception in the room, nice touch. Outside our room was a small courtyard with tables and a fountain, where we sat one afternoon in the sun and had lunch. Overall an excellent stay, except the glazing wasn't great and when the residents from the houses behind had a party 2 nights running, we were awake most of the night, and the earplugs provided became useful.

Room Tip: Our room was next to the lift and stairs so could be noisy with people leaving and arriving, but I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adasco02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

Very good location, 5 minutes walk from city centre but nice & quiet.Suites not to be faulted with kitchen & laundry facilities.Bathrooms included spa bath.Very friendly owners who couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We parked the car in the hotel car park and received a warm welcome at reception. The hotel was within easy walking distance of the city centre and just off a busy road but we heard no noise from the traffic as bedroom was at the back of the building. The room was modern, clean and well equipped; there were two cooker rings and a microwave but no conventional oven which would have been preferable. Stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't find anything to complain about.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnyblink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We satyed over the weekend of the England v Georgia rugby game and were made to feel really welcome. The rooms are immaculate with views out over the city and only a 10 minute walk down the Water of Leith to the ground

Room Tip: High floor for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrighty2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The Bluestone on George never disappoints. I've stayed here many times since I first reviewed it and it is always faultless. Neville is always a welcoming host and the cleanliness of the apartments and the quality of the fitout is exceptional. All I can say is that Neville and his wife deserve all the success in the World. The Motel is still hard to get into and a real testiment to their hard work and dedication. Well done guys!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 247Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed at Bluestone on George for 2 nights in late August as a finish to 2 weeks on the South Island of NZ.

The hospitality that welcomed us by the owners was wonderful and Sandra was more than happy to spend some time having a chat about things to do and where to go.

The location was great and I wasnt aware when I booked that the property was on the main shopping road! Bonus. It was a quick few minutes down the street to some lovely cafes for breakfast and the main shopping road. It was a 15 - 20 minute walk to both the Cadbury Factory and Speights Brewery and very centrally located to everything.

The rooms themselves were beautiful. Having only been built a few years ago, they were very clean and modern and the microwave and washing machine/dryer combo was a pleasant suprise. The crockery, cutlery and glassware was all very clean, new and modern (and thank you to our housemaid who washed our coffee mugs up for us). The bathrooms were great with a big spa, heated towel rail and underfloor heating. The shower pressure wasnt the best, but the water was hot. The heating in the rooms was perfect and responded quickly to any change that we made. The bed was the most comfortable we had stayed in the entire time we were away and a much needed luxury. I had forgotten that I had booked a Deluxe room with a Balcony so that was a pleasant suprise to take in the view.

The only two niggles I have would say about the property is that for a new property, the soundproofing wasnt that fabulous. We heard of our neighbours comings and goings, running and operating of the spa plus a bit of their TV (thankfully they were friends so a quick 'be quiet' was okay). Also next to the main entry door of the room on the external walkway (which is in the open) there is a window and outside that window is quite a bright light that shone through until quite late. If you are a sleeper that needs a dark room, a towel over the slat blinds helped a little.

The complimentary internet / computer in the entry was a lovely gesture as was the sitting room to play chess or read a book. There is also a gym which looked well equipped but I didnt use it. There is also a nice courtyard area which we didnt use, but would be nice in summer with a drink.

Overall, a wonderful stay and a lovely property and I wouldnt hesitate to stay again or to recommend the rooms. And thank you to Sandra and Neville for their hospitality.

Room Tip: If you book a balcony room, ask for the 4th floor - the views are a better being higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LEO029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I have stayed at Bluestone a few times now. People are friendly, the property is allways clean and it's quite close to town / the university.

The hotel has mini bar, internet, partial view and some rooms have a jacuzzi.

For our mind, the better property - layout wise is Motel on York.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blairegourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
301 reviews
1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
2.3 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#21 of 61 in Dunedin
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £97 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing