We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suberb accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluestone on George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Macquarie
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Suberb accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Fabulous Motel with beautiful furnishings. We stayed only one night but could have stayed on for many more this place is so lovely. Very close to restuarants but far enough away from the bustle of the city centre. Spotlessly clean with great amenities. highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    88
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
63
496
24
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Top floor room with good aspect over the city. Our room was spotless as was reception, lifts and stairs. The property is a short walk from the central city area - cafes, shops and services. Location behind another property with driveway access removes the traffic noise and adds to that feeling of privacy.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

This motel offers contemporary and clean rooms. The hotel is well positioned to see Dunedin’s attractions. The staff are very helpful. I left my mobile phone in the room and realised when I reached the airport. The staff were kind enough to arrange to have the phone delivered to Australia (not easy due to batteries etc).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Time2venture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Spotlessly clean. High standard of fittings. Nice touches; topping up washing powder daily, complimentary newspaper delivered to room, fresh milk at reception, huge selection of DVDs, providing a clothes airer, ear plugs supplied ( & needed if nearby students are partying! They work and we weren't disturbed) Good location with off street parking and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MM1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

The accomodation quality was top quality, with a spa bath and nice views of Dunedin town. I even noticed the glassware was lovely. It was only a short walk to the city centre and some great cafes. You have to pay for the internet, but it's pretty reasonable.There is nothing I could fault with this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KfromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

This motel is just excellent in every way. Best motel I have ever stayed in. Luxurious and extremely clean and modern. Very helpful owners who could not do more to make us both comfortable and welcome. Excellent internet at very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Bluestone on George is a great motel/apartments located about 5 min walking distance from the shops/bars etc.,. We stayed here for 4 nights whilst in Dunedin for the Rugby World Cup. They had ample customer parking which was off road and the whole feel of the accommodation and facilities was modern and bright and immaculate. The reception was stacked with ideas of things to do and a laptop was available for general use. The small lounge also served drinks in the evening. Our room to accommodate the 3 of us was modern and bright and was well equipped. Double and single bed, sofa, tv, small balcony, kitchenette with microwave, washer and dryer and they even provided washing powder on a daily basis. The bathroom had lovely underfloor heating and a deep jacuzzi bath/shower, which proved a little difficult for our young son. A great selection of DVDs were also available to watch from reception in the room, nice touch. Outside our room was a small courtyard with tables and a fountain, where we sat one afternoon in the sun and had lunch. Overall an excellent stay, except the glazing wasn't great and when the residents from the houses behind had a party 2 nights running, we were awake most of the night, and the earplugs provided became useful.

Room Tip: Our room was next to the lift and stairs so could be noisy with people leaving and arriving, but I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adasco02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#7 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#5 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Property: Bluestone on George
Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing