We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Great hotel. Not a bad location. Very helpful employees. Was a pleasure.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Semelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

Still the best place to stay in Dunedin, but there are some snags: noisy fridge, exacerbated by a missing switch to shut it off over night being one. Likewise: a washing machine in the room is a great idea, but there need to be ways for quieten them down, or otherwise - as was the case here - you wake up by the guest next door doing an early morning wash load. There are pillow options, but the soft pillow was still to hard for my taste. Despite all this: the Bluestone is far superior to the competition in Dunedin, and the owners - who also seem to be running the show - obviously take great pride in keeping it that way, and are on top of it super friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuaMaRima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We found the units fairly small especially the bathroom .. Ours was a king studio unit. But everything is very modern and functional and within walking distance of the city. We we here outside university time. We can imagine it might get noisy when the "scarfies" are in residence..the provided ear plugs give some hint about this. The big bonus was the appearance of 2 kereru in a berry tree near our balcony at breakfast time

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatchNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were only here for one night but loved the place. It was immaculately clean inside and out. The service was great and we very much enjoy the rabbit hutch with resident rabbit. The spa bath was huge and provided a great soak although the jets are never in the right place. It was a short walk to food and drink and there was plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazmannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Would definitely recommend this motel. Everything was perfect. Far better than our other accomodation in Dunedin. Suits singles or couples. No facilities for children.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed for 5 nights, ever have we been contended!! I have traveled quite a bit and stayed in 5 star plus hotels around the world but the atmosphere and personal attention was outstanding for a hotel!! The rooms are presented as if it was opened yesterday, clean as seen in the pictures, forgo the cost and enjoy the cozy and appealing ' host' where you can walk down George Street in Dunedin and take in New Zealand ' AS PURE AS IT GETS'!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conrad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed in the Premier Elite room for 2 nights and it is the most expensive stay we had for our 12 days south island trip. The room is cozy and well appointed with a huge and comfy super king size bed. The reception staff is helpful and their dining recommendation was great. Stove is not available in the kitchen and we could make simple dish using the microwave provided.

Only thing that disappointed me was the noise we encountered in the first night of our stay. There is an old building opposite to the hotel and gangs were yelling and chatting loudly in their balcony in the mid night. I could not sleep at all and had called the reception for help at one o'clock in the morning. The reception actioned promptly and the gangs had lower down their voice in a few minutes and I could finally fell into asleep. It was quiet on the 2nd night and had a very good quality of sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gela_twn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.9 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £108 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing