We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Almost excellent”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Avery impressive property with good service,facilities and situation however two factors prevented the top rating
1. No hot plate
2. I am 185cm (6'2") however had difficulty in get out of bath, over which shower is situated. My partner required assistance and the use of stool type table to get out unaided.

I don't see that either of these items with be/can be rectified which is a pity.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EA1509TC1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    89
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
68
507
25
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel a few minutes walk to the city centre, lots of shops and restaurants nearby.

Hotel is set back from road so it is very quiet, no road noise. It is set on a hill so you get a wonderful view of Dunedin surrounds from the balcony.

Probably the best thing is how clean the rooms are. Spotless! There is also everything you could need. A full kitchen, a washer and dryer, a stereo system, robes, a great spa in the bathroom for 2 people, full toiletries (including make up remover wipes - I've never seen this before!), plenty of towels to use. Free paper delivered in morning.

The lift when you get in is spotlessly clean. You get 200mb free Internet to use. Minibar items are fairly well priced. The manager Neville was lovely and very helpful and friendly.

All in all a fabulous hotel, only issue we had was that the bed was too soft and we like a hard bed. We both had sore backs when we woke up. This is just our preference though.

This hotel definitely earns its number 1 spot on trip advisor for Dunedin hotels! Can't wait to stay again on the trip back.


  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimandKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We went to New Zealand for our honeymoon. This hotel was among the best. Excellent rooms and service. Good value for money.

Dunedin is a beautiful place...Baldwin street- a must visit...Little India restaurant is good for vegetarian food

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyHigh2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth,Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Bluestone on George is PERFECT. Great room, spa included, washer & dryer proved to be a boon. The hotel information compendium in the room is the best we have ever seen and used.
Great beds and pillows, minibar, tea & coffee making facilities, large flat screen TV, very convenient to the city centre and many restaurants. In fact a 10 minute walk will get you to Dunedin's city centre.
Very clean, tidy and modern. free parking.
In a word....PERFECT.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This hotel is exceptionally clean and well located. The owners are welcoming and very helpful. We stayed at the beginning and end of our trip and both stays were excellent. The rooms are like apartments with washer/dryer, refrig, all the necessities. Free Parking, walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrpuskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stayed at the Bluestone on George on a Saturday night in September 2012 while visiting my son at Otago University. I lived in NZ for 15 years and can honestly say that this must be the nicest placed I have stayed in NZ. The room was very clean and warm with a really comfortable bed and pillows. When I arrived the room wasn't quite ready so the lady on reception offered myself and my son a drink on the house and we only had to wait about 5-10 minutes anyway.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel is excellent. Very accomodating staff and great room. Loved the large spa bath in the room and how warm the room was when it was so freezing outside! Great location too, very short walk to restaurants and sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceeb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.9 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Property: Bluestone on George
Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing