We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Our Time at the Bluestone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, CA
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Time at the Bluestone”
Reviewed 12 May 2008

There weren't many reviews or mentions of this property, but it looked excellent from the website and we weren't disappointed. This was probably the most luxurious self catering accommodation we stayed in on our trip around the South Island. It is about 15 minutes from the Octagon and the central part of Dunedin along one of the main shopping streets, and just a few blocks from the University of Otago. The room was very clean, large and well appointed, with a cleverly designed kitchen area just inside the door than incorporated a refrigerator, cabinets, sink, and combination washer/dryer. The latter takes a bit of getting used to since it is possible to under & overdry your clothing, or even rewash the load when you're trying to add drying time. The jacuzzi tub was a real luxury and an unusual feature in New Zealand lodgings. The only minus is the noise from the two student apartments adjoining the property on Saturday night and a bit on Sunday (don't know about Friday, since we weren't there). Monday evening was completely quiet, so I imagine that it is that way when school is not in session. Downstairs is a large living room and sitting area that is for guests' use. There is also a computer terminal with free internet access - a real plus if that is important to you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bluestone. Neville and Janet were very pleasant hosts; their daughter has a rabbit hutch with 3 resident rabbits in a corner of the parking lot. The driveway is moderately steep and about a half block in from the street.

  • Liked — High level of comfort
  • Disliked — Weekend noise from student parties
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TrnrMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    89
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
68
509
25
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

We stayed at this hotel last year while we visited one of our children who is attending university in Otago. It was immaculate, close to the city, comfortable and a perfect place to stay. My elderly parents stayed here as wel land it was perfect for them as everything was so accessible for them and they loved the little kitchen where they could make their breakfast . I can`t fault this place.!!

  • Liked — very clesn
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank clancollins6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2008

What a find! The Bluestone on George is great; everything is new, immaculate, felt very high-end at a moderate price! Euro-style chic, stainless kitchen, counter, appliances. Bathroom w/ very modern fixtures, a big spa tub like we often have in a U.S. timeshare! Perfect location for a walk to the center of town (Octagon) and sightseeing and shopping on foot. It’s quiet, as it’s a bit off the main street, easy to find, park. Little gym which I didn’t use, pretty view of the hills of the city at sunrise and sunset from our room. They have pet bunnies in a cage outside!

  • Liked — Quality of accommodation; it felt very new and modern
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

We have just had a wonderful weekend break in Dunedin.I chose the BlueStone through the reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed.We were given an upgrade to a room on the top floor with nice views.It was immaculately clean and well appointed.We enjoyed being within walking distance of everything we wanted to do, and found the advice given by the host helpful.As it is back from the road it is also quiet.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikato
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2008

The Bluestone is probably the best motel in Dunedin - more executive than family which suited us on this trip. Quiet & within walking distance of the Octagon & city centre. A fantastic stay.

  • Liked — The views.
  • Disliked — The steep hill from the road to the lobby.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WaikatoCurly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, MI
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2007

A very elegant small hotel, but still a very New Zealand hotel. And reasonably priced at that. It has everything you expect in a NZ hotel: a kitchenette with tea and coffee making equipment, refrigerator, and dishes, but it has more: a combination washer and dryer, upscale dishes and cabinets, a jacuzzi bathtub, and a heated bathroom floor. This is a new property and everything still shines.

The hotel is well located. It is in walking distance of most all the Dunedin highlights: the Octagon, the Otago Museum, Cadbury's, the Settler's Museum, the local university, and the Railway Station.

  • Liked — Elegant touches
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomtravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Columbia, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2007

This new (2007), upscale executive property is fabulous. The rich decor is soothing. Top of the line everything from private jet tub to washer-dryer and flat screen TV. Great location! Great price! Excellent, excellent property.

  • Liked — Quality up-scale decor
  • Disliked — Hard to find entrance from street
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LeitaLuetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Property: Bluestone on George
Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing