We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We arrived on a early flight into Dunedin was unsure about getting into our room - they made one available for us which was lovely. The studio room was spacious lovely deck off it. Lovely big bathroom with lovely towels. The bed was extra comfy with Duck pillows very luxurious. The kitchen has got everything needed and all high quailty glass wear and plates etc.
The Managers were very helpful and friendly.
The front entrance has a lounge which was great for meeting friends.
We had two nights and loved the experience and being so handy to the main CBD.
Definately would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    89
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
68
507
25
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Recently spent 3 nights at Bluestone on George. This property is immaculate in every way - a huge spa bath with shower over, luxurious bedding, immaculately clean - absolutely faultless. Our second floor room posed nice views over Dunedin - lovely at night with the lights over the hills on. Short walk to the shops and restaurants in the CBD (where there is a great selection). A gorgeous friendly wee cat on site plus the two lovely bunnies in a well appointed cage above the carpark is a lovely touch for those of us who are animal lovers. We will certainly stay at Bluestone on George on our next trip to Dunedin.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodneyInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Having 'found' Bluestone on George on Trip Advisor we were certainly not disappointed.
Every aspect of the property is exceedingly well presented and immaculately clean.

On our arrival, we found excellent, off-road parking with good manoeuvring room; friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff and good access to our room (excellent lift access). Our room was warm (essential in a Dunedin winter), very well appointed and with a view over Dunedin. Although we didn't avail ourselves of it, there was also a spa bath in our apartment.

We can thoroughly recommend Bluestone on George - we will certainly stay here again when we return to Dunedin.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank platypus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Recently spent three days here at the end of a weeks skiing in Queenstown. From the moment we arrived we were so impressed. Great friendly and informative staff at checkin and a gorgeous room with all the comforts of home. Luxurious bedding, huge spa and a fabulous choice of mini bar at very reasonable rates. Bluestone on George also has a lovely common area lounge off reception where you can have a quiet cosy drink at the end of the day. A desktop computer is provided in the reception area with free Internet and printing facilities. Everything about these apartments is 'as new' and the presentation of the entire property is immaculate. The two bunnies in their cage in the carpark area really give this place a home away from home feel. A short stroll down George st to a good selection of eateries. They also have an arrangement with a nearby restaurant for delivery of a meal and chargeback to your account. Faultless in every way.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellergirlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Just across from Archives office and a minute away from shops and restaurants, Bluestone is so close to everything, with ample parking and good-sized rooms. We stayed on the 3rd floor and had a spa bath while our friends on the floor below only had a shower, yet were equipped with cooktop which we didn't have. Our room was clean and well heated. The comfy bed came with electric blanket, and many pillows to choose from. Huge flat
screen TV with perfect reception. Wifi is limited but there's a laptop in reception for free use. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LooseFruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights and everything is just amazing. Friendly owner and staff, free newspaper in the morning, perfectly clean room, great quality bed and tv, washer and dryer. Only point to improve from our point of view as to offer the possibility to cook in the room, there sadly were hot plates, forcing you to eat out everytime which should be ok for their target group anyway.
Great experience, if you dont care too much about your budget, you cannot do anything wrong staying here!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,194 reviews
383 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,858 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Lots of nice finishing touches; well designed and a good attention to detail from the linen to towels and amenities - a good focus on quality.
Service is excellent and there is a good spacious lounge on the ground floor if you want to escape your room.
The room itself has everything you would need with a kitchenette, washer/dryer etc. and a large spa bath.
If I have any quibbles, it is with the size of the room.
I mistakenly took the words "apartment" and "elite" literally and expected a larger space but as Neville explained, there are photos and floor plans on the web site so that it should be clear what to expect with the room.
Neville also mentioned the benefits of the balcony with a view but given it was winter in Dunedin, the balcony was not going to get much use.
The hotel though is well located to most activities you would want in Dunedin.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.9 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Property: Bluestone on George
Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing