We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Rating!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth the Rating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was the last place we stayed at on a 19 day drive from the North (Bay of Islands) to South Island. Great way to finish our trip after quite few disappointments a long the way. We had a warm and friendly greeting upon arrival (even the cat came out to say hi) and were escorted to a very inviting room. The word "luxury" is used in the hotels description and well justified. The room was spacious and very well appointed. Some of the best furnishings we'd seen. Big screen TV with satellite stations... great for the Sochi Games. We had a balcony with a view and it was well positioned to walk to restaurants etc. Free parking was included and a free allowance (200mbs I think) for the internet.

The icing on the cake were the two luxury dressing gowns!

It wasn't on the cheap side but compared to what we'd stayed in through out NZ it was worth it.

Would stay here again... definitely!

Room Tip: We had room 305.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    89
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
66
499
24
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

A warm welcome awaits at Bluestone even on a rainy miserable day! The room we were given was like a show home. Beautifully decorated, light airy and everywhere was sparkling clean the small kitchen suited our needs and we were quite able to eat our breakfast at the television table. Would agree with a previous comment about the washing machine although the washing cycle was good the drying cycle was a bit erratic but hey it did the job! Our 2 night stay here was really comfortable and highly recommend Bluestone even though as previously mentioned the hill upto the entrance is steep. Close to shops, supermarket, restaraunts etc
Would mention got talking to a lady from Auckland whose daughter is at university in Dunedin and she says that Bluestone is the best accommodation in town and stays there subject to availability.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birthdayoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We give this place our highest rating. The innkeepers were professional and accomodating. As we arrived, Joanne made us aware of the Waitangi Day celebration taking place at the Maori Morai on the Otago Peninsula that the tourist office did not know about - a truly genuine gathering which we attended of the Maori and the Dunedin communities.The stylish rooms were very well equipped with all conveniences including a spa bath and CNN along with 50 other channels (we usually got 7 including two with horse racing). Breakfast was continental - delivered to your room the night before and put in the fridge. The location was perfect - a short walk to a number of good reasonably priced (not easy to find in NZ) restaurants, 15 minute walk to the Octagon and other attractions such as the excellent Settlers Museum.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanron2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Bluestone On George is not a hotel and not a motel. I don't see it as a hotel as there is no bar or restaurant available. I don't see it as a motel, as there was only a microwave, no elements at all and no designated dining space or dining furniture. The good thing is the best spa bath ever. Excellent pillow supply and excellent location. Overall a pleasant stay however we were disappointed we couldn't cook ourselves a traditional bacon and egg breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

What a find this establishment was. An amazing well presented property. Excellent quality and very clean with very friendly and helpful owners. Located a short 5 min walk into the central CBD and close to restaurants etc. Only downside is that the entrance is located up a steep driveway, difficult if you have to walk with luggage. Recommend that you drive right up to the front door. Recommended for your stay in Dunedin.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacko582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Very nice hotel in a great location for walking to city center in Dunedin. It's located up a short drive of the street which made it nice and quiet from the street noise. Very well appointed and modern. Also nicely priced for such a nice, upper-end hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Very pleasant place to stay - clean, modern and tasteful and an easy walk to the centre of Dunedin. Very helpful staff and a nice sitting area for guests if you tire of your room. Has a well set up kitchen, but is also near great cafes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonlmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
1.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Property: Bluestone on George
Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing