We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Views, Location and Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was a well loved and looked after motel, wow the room was spotless and had lovely views over Dunedin. The room had a great spa bath with shower and a large bed which was very comfortable as were the pillows. It also had a washer/drier in the room so there was no extra charge for our laundry. It was a 15/20min walk to the octagon/station where on the way you pass plenty of places to eat and shop. The staff were all friendly and Neville was very helpful on arrival as he gave us good directions to the supermarket.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JCandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at 'Bluestone on George'. Our apartment was beautifully appointed with comfortable furnishings. It was spotlessly clean and very well maintained. Being on the top floor we had lovely views across the city and beyond. It is in an ideal loation, walking distance to the Octogan and close to great pubs and restaurants. The staff were all very friendly and accomodating - providing a map and pointing out places of interest. I have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends and would certainly return on our next visit to Dunedin.

Room Tip: I recommend requesting a room on the top floor - mist permitting - the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahLBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Bluestone on George. It was a well run immaculate hotel with beautiful views towards the University...a 15 minute walk to the Octagon and many very fine restaurants...definitely will be our first choice when we return to Dunedin again...some limbing but does have a very good elevator...the owners are very friendly and receptive

Room Tip: 3rd and 4th floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Although we only stayed two nights during a driving trip through the south island, the accommodations at Bluestone were stellar. The location is just outside of the university, and just 2 blocks from the Octagon, near excellent restaurants and most of the Dunedin sites. The room was turned out with everything we needed, including a washer/dryer, a beautiful modernized bath, and were absolutely spotless. The communal spaces, both indoor and outdoor, were equally well kept, and the staff was very helpful in directing us on our next part of the journey. Excellent value for all that was delivered.

Room Tip: There is student housing very close by, so it was not soundproof, but the proprietors will provide e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangiamaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

First time we have stayed here and what a wonderful experience. This is a motel not hotel but as it is not too far from the City centre this is not a problem. the staff were professional and courteous which gets you off to a good start and then comes the room. The attention to detail is amazing and you could not want for better accommodation and you have a balcony one end of the room and and an outdoor seating area at the front.
You can get drinks to have in the wonderfully appointed lounge but here is a real gem, each room has a minibar and the price is not only the same as downstairs but is cheaper than the bars in town. What a joy to see someone give such value for money.
Well worth a stay and we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was our second visit from England and we loved it just as much as we did the first time. Centrally located, well equipped, stylish and really friendly. Looking forward to staying again in the future and hopefully you will be selling those lovely dressing gowns next time!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GapYearTraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights & the quality of the room & furnishings are very good indeed. Staff very professional. The only slight disappointment was that the city we thought was somewhat over-rated & if you are a light sleeper the student accommodation nearby might on occasions be a bit noisy - but it is a university town after all.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TShYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
301 reviews
1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
2.3 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#21 of 61 in Dunedin
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £97 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing