We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and roooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluestone on George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location and roooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Bluestone on George is an excellent choice for staying in Dunedin. It's very close to lots of shops and places to eat. About a 20 minute walk to the train station and 10-15 minutes to the Octagon. The rooms are very clean, modern, and well appointed. Feature a microwave, full set of dishes, combo washer/dryer (a bit confusing to operate though), and clean modern bathrooms. The staff is very friendly, and there is sufficient parking. My only gripe is the metered internet. The first 200MB a day is free, and after that they have various tiered plans. If I were coming back to Dunedin I'd stay here again. There is no breakfast, so better bring your own food or eat at one of the many cafes in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDTravel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    88
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
63
496
24
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is within easy walking distance north of the Dunedin CBD. It is very modern and extremely well-maintained. Our accommodations were functional and included fridge, microwave, ample kitchen counter space, and combination clothes washer/dryer. Good view from our balcony area out over the university area. Several cafes are a few minutes away. Entry off of George through a narrow right-of-way that leads up the hill to substantial free parking in front of the hotel. But the best part is the excellent management here. They helped us immeasurably with check-in, where to eat, and laundry issues. Fantastic people. I was told by locals that I met at dinner that they believe Bluestone is the best lodging in Dunedin. I was certainly impressed and highly recommend this facility!!

Room Tip: I liked the lower floor since it was easier to move luggage from car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stoketun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Had two nights at Bluestone on George and were most impressed. The rooms were well designed, immaculately clean and had a washer/dryer, a bonus for a traveller. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful with sightseeing suggestions. Has definitely lived up to the Trip Advisor reviews.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
283 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We couldn't have stayed in a more perfect place! The hotel is new, the décor is both lovely and restful, and everything was quality. The couple who ran the hotel were upbeat and ready to help us enjoy our stay. Perfect walking distance to the Octagon. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGoBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This Hotel in my opinion is unequalled. Beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean, wonderful facilities, Lounges, Computer (with Printer), Courtyard with Tables & Chairs.
The pressed Bed Linen with Embroided Pillow-Slips was something else. Washer & Dryer supplied in each Unit.
Neville & Sandra epitomised their magnificent property.
We had overseas guests with us and they never stopped talking about this jewel of a Hotel in Dunedin.
Thank you Neville & Sandra for making our stay so memorable. John & Betty, Pam & Norman

Room Tip: We were on First Floor which would be hard to beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed at Bluestone on George for two nights with friends, great hosts, location is great.
The rooms presented well and very clean and comfortable, a plus having the washing machine .
Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne2578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in February and couldn't fault a thing. The rooms are extremely comfortable, clean and well appointed with a kitchenette, complete with washing machine/dryer. Although seven years old the hotel is spotless and beautifully kept by its owners, Sandra & Neville, who are justifiably proud of their motel. When we were telling the owner of a motel in Greymouth about the pristine motel in Dunedin he immediately guessed that we had stayed at the Bluestone - word gets around!
It's a short walk from the town centre where there are plenty of good restaurants to choose from and there are 3 breakfast/lunch cafes just over the road.
Dunedin is a lovely town with so much to see and do. One of the highlights of our stay there was our time spent at the Settler's Museum, although the Railway Station, Olveston and the Otago Peninsula are also definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rocky081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#6 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#4 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Property: Bluestone on George
Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing