We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluestone on George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed recently for six nights. Sandra and Neville are extremely professional, they care about their customers' wellbeing, and run an extremely efficient business.
We have never stayed anywhere that has a better level of servicing, and our studio apartment was always immaculately clean.
Bluestone on George is within walking distance of most city amenities, and we wouldn't stay anywhere else if in Dunedin.

Room Tip: We stayed in 204, which had views over the city, but one floor up would enhance these views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    88
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
63
496
24
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taranaki NZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just spent 6 nights in Dunedin staying at Bluestone the entire time. It's very hard to find fault in this lovely Hotel. Service at front desk very friendly and helpful, our room was gorgeous. Lovely Decor, fantastic huge deep spa bath, underfloor heating on tiles, lovely linen and the list just goes on. For Dunedin climate at this time of year, our room was so warm and cosy and barely needed the use of heater. The room maintained the warmth all night giving us the most blissful sleep. Bed was lovely and comfy with really nice linen. I'm not the best sleeper and not very good at sleeping in but while staying here, I had the best sleeps and the longest sleep ins ever! ( hubby can sleep anywhere so he's ok) stunning views over Dunedin, great location to the city, university and Forsyth Barr Stadium. Thanks for a wonderful stay, we will be certainly be back and recommending it to all. You deserve your 1st place on trip advisor!

Room Tip: The loft rooms have an amazing view, and the best bath ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeknaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Dunedin,this is our second stay at this great Hotel & hopefully not our last visit.Very close to shops,great cafes/restaurants & local attractions.
Both Sandra & Neville are wonderful hosts who go out of their way to help make stays even better,their local knowledge is amazing.We had an apartment in the newly refurbished loft space which had lovely views over the city,it was very modern,very clean & had lots of room.We would definitely recommend this hotel to others looking for quality affordable accommodation.
Well done to the whole team at Bluestone on George!!!

Room Tip: The loft apartments are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALASKAHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Bluestone on George did not disappoint! Just a short walk to shops, cafes & restaurants. Very modern & clean apartments, comfortable bed & very well appointed. Loved our stay & would highly recommend to others looking for accommodation in Dunedin's city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
739 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 763 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

When researching for a place to stay in Dunedin I was surprised about the apparent lack of mainstream hotels available in the city which could hopefully provide better than average standards of accommodation.

In their absence Bluestone on George is an example of a smaller hotel (15 rooms) which can fill the gap more than adequately and did so for us.

It doesn’t feature a restaurant, swimming pool or 24 hour room service so if that is what you are looking for you will be disappointed. What it does have is modern, very comfortable accommodation and free parking.

It’s located on the north side of the city centre just off one of the main streets which runs directly to the Octagon. It’s a few minutes drive to there or a good 15 minute walk. There are many shops, cafes and restaurants which line the route although we found many of the eating places were either closed in the evening (cafes), were takeaway style places or selling asian food which presumably is the most popular cuisine with the large student population. We stayed over on a Sunday night so that may also have been a factor (fewer places open). The room has a guide to the city and I’d recommend having a look at that rather than venturing out as we did in the expectation that you will just come upon somewhere suitable to eat nearby.

The access driveway into the property is on a hill and the parking on a camber although we didn’t find this as onerous as others are commenting upon here on TA - it’s steep but not Everest!

We had booked a “Premier Studio Apartment - Elite” about 6 weeks in advance of our one-night stay for NZ$225 (Nov 2013). The room was on the upper floor of the hotel but the lift was fast and efficient so no problems with luggage. It was all tastefully furnished and decorated and everything appeared almost new. We had a large very comfortable bed, a very comfy settee with foot stool, plenty of storage space, and a small kitchen area with facilities. These included a washer/dryer, a fridge, mini-bar, microwave oven, kettle, crockery, utensils and glasses. There is no dining/coffee table in the room so if eating-in the plate would be on your lap (or you could sit at the desk). For entertainment there is a large flat screen television, CD player and DVD. The balcony was just big enough to step out onto but our view over the rooftops wasn’t anything to get excited about anyway - it’s perhaps better from other rooms.

The bathroom had a very large spa bath with a shower overhead and all the fitments were modern and worked well.

The hotel has a very nicely furnished residents lounge on the ground floor just off the reception which would be a good place to meet friends or family.

The entrance to our room was on an open passageway which overlooked a communal patio below which some other guests were using first thing in the morning - their rooms presumably opened onto this set-up. They weren’t exactly talking in quiet tones and it was a bit strange having a shave feeling that there were other people in the bathroom! We didn’t have any outside disturbances during the night - from this source or nearby university accommodation.

Check-in and check-out were straight forward and the member of staff we dealt with was very pleasant.

We were flying up to Nelson after our overnight stop and it’s worth noting that Dunedin Airport is about 30km outside the city so if using it allow some time to get there. We didn’t have much time to look around places of interest in the city and would spend a couple of nights at least next time around - quite possibly at Bluestone on George!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Bluestone on George is an excellent choice for staying in Dunedin. It's very close to lots of shops and places to eat. About a 20 minute walk to the train station and 10-15 minutes to the Octagon. The rooms are very clean, modern, and well appointed. Feature a microwave, full set of dishes, combo washer/dryer (a bit confusing to operate though), and clean modern bathrooms. The staff is very friendly, and there is sufficient parking. My only gripe is the metered internet. The first 200MB a day is free, and after that they have various tiered plans. If I were coming back to Dunedin I'd stay here again. There is no breakfast, so better bring your own food or eat at one of the many cafes in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDTravel80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is within easy walking distance north of the Dunedin CBD. It is very modern and extremely well-maintained. Our accommodations were functional and included fridge, microwave, ample kitchen counter space, and combination clothes washer/dryer. Good view from our balcony area out over the university area. Several cafes are a few minutes away. Entry off of George through a narrow right-of-way that leads up the hill to substantial free parking in front of the hotel. But the best part is the excellent management here. They helped us immeasurably with check-in, where to eat, and laundry issues. Fantastic people. I was told by locals that I met at dinner that they believe Bluestone is the best lodging in Dunedin. I was certainly impressed and highly recommend this facility!!

Room Tip: I liked the lower floor since it was easier to move luggage from car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stoketun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#6 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aria on Bank
Aria on Bank
#4 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Property: Bluestone on George
Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing