We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We booked the Bluestone on the basis on TripAdvisor reviews, and we certainly were not disappointed. I was a little worried by a George Street location, as it can be busy, but the property is situated well back from the road and does not suffer from road noise.

We were checked in by one of the owners, who was very friendly and efficient, and shown the comfortable guest lounge facility and then on to our room. The room was reasonably spacious, tastefully decorated, and well equipped with items like a CD/DVD player. The bathroom was very nice, with heated floor and a fantastic bath (although the over-bath shower was a little awkward). The in-room internet system was a little bizarre, but once set up it worked fine - this would be one area to improve upon to impress business travellers.

Overall this is a well designed, well maintained and comfortable place to stay. Although probably most suited to business travellers, I would recommend the Bluestone to anyone looking for a comfortable stay and excellent value in Dunedin.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2009

My sister and I travelled down to Dunedin for the mid winter carnaval and shopping and was a little worried when we travelled down George Street but once we started up the drive way we realised we'd made a great choice!
Reception staff were welcoming + very helpful, providing maps + advice.
Modern but not garish, comfortable and clearly newly decorated to a high standard. Bedroom in cool greens, comfy large bed, even the feather filled pillows were monogrammed!
Bathroom contained a Spa bath, power shower + lovely cosmetics with underfloor heating.
Kitchen was well equiped and modern, complete with washing machine, iron + ironing board.
Tv + dvd/stereo system was top quality, with a wide selection of dvds available to borrow from reception.
All in all a lovely trip completed by a lovely hotel. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samsams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Great location and excellent value for the price. Plan to stay there again during our 2009 trip to Dunedin

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drkahless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

One of the very best places I've been to any where in the world. Beautiful place . Could not fault it in any way except that the view of the backs of houses in a bit drab. The things that matter-cleanliness, comfort, quality, room size, bathroom --superb

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fatso_plc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

The reviews on here were so good my partner and I decided to splurge and stay here while in Dunedin. We're so glad we did. The spa was great and the heated bathroom floor and towel rail perfect for the chilly evening. Hope we can come back to Bluestone on George and Dunedin as we just didn't get enough time at either.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohmiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

We chose this accommodation solely on the strength of the tripadvisor reviews and we were completely satisfied. The rooms are still in "as new" condition and kept that way by meticulous service staff. Free internet in the lobby, free gymnasium, free in-room laundry and free parking at the front door. And it's just a just a short walk to the restaurants, cafes and many of the tourist sites in Dunedin. The staff are friendly, courteous and helpful. An excellent establishment.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We stayed here in March for 2 nights and what a lovely hotel. This is two years old and has been very tastefully decorated, it’s modern and spotlessly clean. Staff are very welcoming and helpful.

The room was spacious and had everything we needed – including kitchen with a washer/dryer (powder supplied) which is very handy when you’re away for a while and want to freshen up your clothes.

The bathroom is also spacious and designed in the style of a wet room. There was a courtyard accessed via the patio door with a table and chairs.

Free parking and free internet access available in reception until 9pm. You can get wi-fi or broadband in your room which is chargeable.

Location is also very good – 10 minute stroll to the Octagon.

Would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay in Dunedin.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
640 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: £109 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing