We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bluestone on George
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

The room was spacious and included a good sized sitting area. The bathroom was also sizable and had great counter space. The room included its own washer/dryer and well stocked kitchenette which was very convenient. The location was only a short walk to the town centre and lots of good restaurants and shops. The staff was extremely helpful with providing directions, things to see while we were in the area, and places to eat. We wished we had more time to spend there.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FTCAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    89
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
66
499
24
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

Lovely place, updated and clean. All possible facilites are onsite (incl washer/drayer/gym). Neville and Sandra were really lovely. No hesitations in returning!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

This was a clean comfortable and very convenient place to stay during our travels in NZ

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMBBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

My partner & I stayed at Blue Stone on George based on the reviews from trip advisor and couldn’t be more happy with our choice. The Location was within walking distance to the city center, restaurants and public transport. We stayed in a studio room which was spacious and extremely clean. The room was well equipped with all the amenities you need for a short stay, including a mini bar and daily service. Good quality materials used throughout giving that luxury feeling, and the heated tiles in the bathroom were a real bonus. Free internet & DVD’s were provided in the guest lounge witch we found extremely handy and very useful. You defiantly can’t go pass the FREE facilities provided which adds to making this Hotel outstanding. We were very pleased with our two night stay and would recommend it to others traveling to Dunedin.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and the room was beautiful. The location is great with about a 10 minute walk to the Octogon. Lovely bathroom with heated floors and a massive double spa bath and the room had views across the university. The hotel is located up a driveway from the main street which is great as it made it all the more quieter. Free newspaper every morning and ability to check emails using the laptop provided in the main lounge area. Will be staying here again if we return to Dunedin and it is great value for money

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madabouticecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2009

we drove from christchurch and didn't know what to expect once we reached dunedin hotel and we were really impressed, bluestone on george could not have been any better, the room was clean and large and the amenities were very modern, the location was perfect for walking around the city, the parking was free which is definitely a perk, oh and we also loved the view from our shared balcony

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 102210h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

Our experience was very much in-line with the other trip advisor reviews. The rooms were spacious and clean with updated decor and the mini-kitchen and washer/dryer set were invaluable. Additionally, the bathroom with heated floors and spa tub was a nice surprise. We found that other than the peninsula views and wildlife, Dunedin was not an extremely exciting city and the other hotels around looked less than desirable. We were very pleased with our two night stay at this hotel and would be sure to recommend it to others traveling through the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiff_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.0 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
1.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.5 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluestone on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluestone on George

Property: Bluestone on George
Address: 571 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#2 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#3 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluestone on George 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluestone is a small property owned and operated by its owners who take personal care in every aspect of the business to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience. Bluestone has studio rooms suitable for the single and couple travellers, or business clients, and is not a family orientated property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluestone on George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluestone On George Dunedin
Bluestone On George Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing