We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Room.”
Review of Garden Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden Motel
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Room.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I recently stayed at Garden Motel when visiting a family member in hospital in Dunedin. They allowed us to check in earlier then their standard time since our room was ready, free wifi was offered on check in which was great to help let family know how things were going.

The unit had lots of space (2 bedroom unit) and more then enough room for the two of us staying. Room was nice and clean and service was fantastic. Willowbank Dairy is right across the road with multiple takeaways just down the road and a block over. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back when next you need to stay in Dunedin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    28
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
27
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We are very unsatisfied and disappointed with the service and facilities of this motel. We originally booked a room with 2 single beds and 1 double bed. However, we were given a room with only 1 single bed and 1 double bed. In addition to that, the owners were rude and unhelpful when we informed them that there was no hot water in the room. Not only did they not attempt to solve the issue, but they also seemed to blame on us for using up all of the hot water. We have never had such an awful experience before.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkitty1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
We are very sorry that our motel was your worst experience. You booked through booking .com and when you book through an agent your booking automatically selects the type of room you want -so we had no input into the unit you were put in by Booking.com. As we had no vacancies we could not change your unit - so we offered to bring another bed in for you - which we did. As for the hot water - we have never run out before or since your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worongary, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed in the 1bedroom apartment with the queen bed in the living room.It was quite cramped with two adults and two children steping over suitcases in the lounge .
The service was fantastic and so helpful with guiding us to family friendly restaurants and local attractions
The motel was a long walking distance from the city but still enjoyable .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Than you for your review. We are pleased you found us helpful. Yes with a lot of luggage the rooms can be cramped. Next time try a two bedroom unit - there is a lot more room and cupboard to store your luggage in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were recommended this Hotel by an alternative establishment and it did not disappoint. My wife and I cannot praise the service and quality high enough, the owners took time and were quite focussed on there business to the point of changing a few future bookings around to get our business. Found info out that we needed, nothing was a problem. What a difference in this day and age. When we are back in Dunedin we know where we will be booking

Room Tip: Ground floors have easy and disabled access
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will stay with us if you are back in Dunedin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed in a one bedroom unit while down for my son's graduation. Small unit for a one bedroom, but it was lovely and clean and well stocked. Situated at the north end of George Street, noise wasn't a problem although the motel is surrounded by student flats. Owner very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalNZ1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thanks for your review. We pride ourselves on clean and tidy units and are pleased that you found your unit up to our standard. We hope you will stay with us when next you are in dunedin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at the Garden Motell for 2 nights and it was a very nice stay and definately good value for money.
We were recieved warmly at arrival and got a room in the corner of the motel. Entering the room, there first was the kitchen which had everything you need. The motel has a policy of not allowing people to cook food which is filled with spice of fish due to the smell so keep that in mind. Keep the door open when cooking if the weather allows it so everything will air through.
The bathroom has a toilet and small but good shower.
The bedroom had a nice size bed with a harder matress which we loved.
The decor is a bit dated, but that's something you can love. You can eat your breakfast, lunch or diner at a small table which is situated in the bedroom.
The room was quiet which is a very good plus.
A laundry room is located in the motel in a seperate room where you can wash and dry your clothes for a small price.

The motel is about a 20 minute walk from Dunedin centre. There is a busstop nearby which you can use if you want.
There are lots of restaurants nearby. The big supermarket is in the centre, so if you are walking, plan what you want to buy or grab your car.Because we made our diner in the motel I can't give you any tip but when looking inside and seeing people eating, happy faces were there so I'm sure you can eat very good nearby the hotel. Otherwise, there are lots of places in and around the centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ucchan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your review. we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back when next you are in Dunedin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights. On the first night, we discovered the light in the bathroom was not working and we had to change room but the staff was very apologetic and helpful.
The rooms are value for money. It offers free newspaper, wifi and milk and the room rate is very affordable.
Both the rooms are very clean and well-kept. The negative is that the bathroom is very small for the second room we occupied.
Recommended if you are looking for value.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank zippee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden_Motel_Owners, Owner at Garden Motel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hi we are pleased you found our motel value for meney. We hope to see you back in Dunedin again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#33 of 61 in Dunedin
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Commodore Motel
Commodore Motel
#44 of 61 in Dunedin
111 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Allan Court Motel
Allan Court Motel
#30 of 61 in Dunedin
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#26 of 61 in Dunedin
62 reviews
1.9 mi away
Manor Motel
Manor Motel
#43 of 61 in Dunedin
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Motel

Property: Garden Motel
Address: 958 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Garden Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for somewhere to stay that is affordable, well-appointed, close to the city, comfortable and clean? No matter what the purpose of your visit to Dunedin, whether it's a "home away from home" you want, or you just want to "get away from home," you need look no further than our motel. We have 16 non-smoking units ranging from small studios to 2-bedroom units (including 2 wheelchair access units). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing