We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Quest Dunedin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest Dunedin
Ranked #46 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

At day six of our 13 night stay and had to ask for our sheets to be changed our room was not vacuumed once our bath and toilet were finally cleaned properly after 7 days, very noisy could hear every car outside they are in dire need of good sound proofing. Only good things were the closeness to town and the staff but won't stay again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    63
    36
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
54
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment room was a nice size and well appointed the bathroom has great water pressure. The location is across the road from Cadburys min walk to the train station next to a super market and a couple of min to the Octagon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

It is hard getting good accommodation for a family. But this fitted the bill nicely. Next to a supermarket and across the road from the Cadbury chocolate factory the kids were happy. Not the best kitchen equipment, no decent knife or sissiors but you rarely find that. Beds quite comfy, with electric blankets. So pretty good overall.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthVick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I've stayed at numerous Quest properties on business and this is the worst yet. The location is good - central Dunedin within walking distance of the town centre and local attractions, etc. Parking is undercover on site and despite other reviewers comments is actually good value - $12.50 per night for undercover, secure parking compares well with other local hotels. Unfortunately that's about all that is positive. The property seems to be largely populated by noisy students, and being right on the main state highway through town also means extra noise.

Whilst my room was clean on arrival it was very basic and a little tired. My bathroom was missing soap and shower gel on the first night. I arrived on a Saturday afternoon and on the Sunday the room was not serviced at all. It does say this in the room compendium but it's the only place I've ever stayed that doesn't service rooms on a Sunday! Unfortunately my room wasn't serviced properly at all during my stay - bins were left unemptied, pots unwashed, towels not replaced, bathroom not restocked, even the sink wasn't cleaned. I called reception to complain on the first night and was told they would sort it the next day. I asked for some bathroom supplies to be brought up. Neither eventuated.

I stayed during a very cold snap (it is Dunedin after all) and so left the heater on a mild setting so that the room was habitable on my return from work. On one evening I returned to find the heater turned off, the window wide open and the room absolutely freezing.

Sorry to report that I can't recommend and won't be staying again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulrproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed one night in June - although we arrived at 1am due to a long flight delay.

We have two small children and asked reception in the morning whether we could have an extra hour (to 11am) before checking out to allow them to sleep a little longer, given the extremely late arrival. Whilst the arrival is nothing to do with the hotel, I was a little disappointed to be reluctantly given only extra 30 minutes to check out.

Room was OK, if very hot on arrival; could do with a refresh soon though as the fittings looked a little tired. Was surprised to be asked for $12.50 to park the car too...

I can't recommend this hotel, albeit on the back of a very brief stay. I will try somewhere else next time I'm in Dunedin.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is a new building so everything is very modern and immaculately clean. The staff are great as well and are very friendly and helpful.
If you want hotel facilities don't come here because there is no restaurant. However they do supply breakfast packs which are adequate for a light breakfast of cereal, toast etc.
We were bait fussy re standards on our trip but had no complaints at all about this place. Very nice indeed !

Room Tip: Our room looked on to the police station but all was quiet during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here a few times with work, the location is the perfect location central to Dunedin city, and on the same level which made for easy walking. Wifi is very expensive tho, (15 a day) compared to other places that offer free Wifi for the same room rates. Parking is also additional. clean and tidy rooms, tho, and i would still recommend even with the other expenses.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flopsynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.0 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#40 of 61 in Dunedin
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#23 of 61 in Dunedin
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#32 of 61 in Dunedin
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Dunedin

Property: Quest Dunedin
Address: 333 Cumberland Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Dunedin 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Dunedin serviced apartments offer guests a relaxed and comfortable Dunedin accommodation experience for overnight visits or for short or long stays, ideal for both the corporate and leisure traveller. Located in the heart of Dunedin, Quest Dunedin is within walking distance to Dunedin CBD known as the Edinburgh of the South with the best preserved Victorian and Edwardian buildings in the southern hemisphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quest Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Quest Hotel Dunedin
Dunedin Quest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing