We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean comfortable central” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Dunedin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quest Dunedin
Ranked #41 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
uk
Level Contributor
562 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2009

In central dunedin, convenient and very clean. Really cant fault it apart from slightly noisy but there again you are in the centre of dunedin. I recommend it

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sankes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    62
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
44
51
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

The location is fairly central, next to a supermarket, but also next to a very busy, noisy road. If you stay here ask for a room at the back away from the main road. Accommodation is very clean, modern and comfortable, but not large. The laundry facilities in the bathfoom are very useful.

  • Liked — clean and modern
  • Disliked — very noisy road and views of cadbury factory building or walls
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stamatt, Owner / Managing Director at Quest Dunedin, responded to this review, 11 February 2009
Hello Manth10. Thank you for your review and feedback following your stay with us here at Quest Dunedin. We are sorry that your stay wasn't as pleasant as you would have liked but I am very hopeful that you enquired as to whether another apartment was available if you found it too noisy - we are only too happy to accommodate guest complaints if they raise it with us at the time of their stay. As can only be expected when a property is situated in the very heart of the CBD of a substantial-sized city, noise pollution is sometimes going to be a factor. That said, the entire frontage and Southern side of our building is equipped with commercial 'Hush' glass and this normally reduces any noise 'pollution' to acceptable levels - unless a window is not correctly sealed. Our location is, arguably, second to none in Dunedin, situated within 100 metres of the two largest supermarkets in Dunedin and within 3 minutes walk of the Octagon and numerous cafes, restaurants and bars. Unfortunately this blue-chip location cannot always provide amazing vistas but I guess you can't have it all! Thanks again for your feedback Manth10, we're always delighted to receive a guest's comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

Clean, nice room. Close to centre of town.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BazAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2008

I stayed one night, and it was great. Across the road from the Chocolate factory - a bonus. The staff were helpful and friendly, the breakfast pack was simple but great value. The room was big without being huge; it was clean and comfortable. This was good value for money - I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2008

We recently stayed here for 3 nights. Well located as only a short walk to the "Octagon" area, which is great for breakfast and lunch. Also very close for the Tairei Gorge Rail Trip.
The units are very clean and tidy, comfortable beds. Free use of Laundry facilities. Staff very helpful. Would certainly recommend.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

I stayed one night @ Quest. The location is hard to beat. Near the octagon and the cathedral, and opposite is the Cadzbury choc factory. Next to it is a big supermarket where you can get all the supplies you need. We booked a studio and it was clean, ok size, with cutlery complete enough to cook simple meals and breakfast. Parking is 15 nzd per night @ the hotel. Self-service laundry is available.

Hm.. I just don't feel it in Dunedin, I'd rather stay in Otago Peninsula the next time I visit and embrace the french atmosphere. The scenery is much lovelier and there're more things to see or do. The tour to the choc factory is so-so for me, although it would be a good activity for the kids.

  • Liked — the room and location
  • Disliked — the parking is a bit expensive
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tahudantempe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stamatt, Owner at Quest Dunedin, responded to this review, 24 October 2008
Hi tahudantempe, thank you for your kind review and recommendation. I just wanted to correct the car-parking charge that you quoted, the daily charge is $12.50 per night rather than the $15 you noted. The car-park charge exists because of the limited numbers we have available and, as you know, it is secure, undercover, extremely well-loctaed within Dunedin's CBD and has internal access to our property. Thanks again for your review, we look forward to seeing you return to Quest Dunedin in the near future.

Matt Scoles
Managing Director
Quest Dunedin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2008

We had two short stays at Quest Dunedin - the first in a studio apartment and with the second upgraded to a one-bedroom apartment. Everything was very clean and modern, and the staff were professional and helpful. I think the one-bedroom apartment would be worth the extra money for a longer stay - for example the kitchen is better equipped, you get a dining table and more seating, and you have a washer/dryer in the bathroom.

The location is pretty good - it's not picturesque (don't expect a decent view) but you're only a few minutes walk from restaurants, supermarket, the Cadbury factory, and the railway station.

Make sure you request a parking spot in advance because the parking is very limited.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank StevePER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.0 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#37 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#46 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#29 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#44 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Dunedin

Property: Quest Dunedin
Address: 333 Cumberland Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Dunedin 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Dunedin serviced apartments offer guests a relaxed and comfortable Dunedin accommodation experience for overnight visits or for short or long stays, ideal for both the corporate and leisure traveller. Located in the heart of Dunedin, Quest Dunedin is within walking distance to Dunedin CBD known as the Edinburgh of the South with the best preserved Victorian and Edwardian buildings in the southern hemisphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Quest Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Quest Hotel Dunedin
Dunedin Quest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing