We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much space we didn't know what to do with it.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Dunedin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quest Dunedin
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Trenton, NJ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So much space we didn't know what to do with it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

We had a two-bedroom apartment, which is really two units connecting, so we had two bathrooms, two kitchens, laundry, two bedrooms, and a living room. Though other reviewers didn't like having to go through two doors, we didn't find it a problem. Just leave the interior doors open if you want. Just a few blocks to the Octagon and up the street from Cadbury. Off-street parking (for an extra charge). Now if they only could have arranged better weather.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsquaredNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    62
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
44
51
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

I stayed here for a week whilst visiting the University of Otago. The rooms are spacious, well furnished and were well kept. Check-in was problem free, despite turning up much earlier than the claimed check-in time. Secure parking is available for a small fee as there is no long-term street parking.

The kitchen facilities and utensils worked well however the room only had a bar-type fridge (no freezer) and no oven. Grocery shopping is easy with two stores within 2 minutes walk. The apartments are also within walking distance of the centre of the city where dining options are plentiful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsetter_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

We had to check in late - having arrived in Christchurch at about 1:30pm and by the time we got through customs etc, picked up the hire car and drove to Dunedin it was getting late - the apartments handled late checkin remotely - but went OK. The apartment was OK but the decor was very uninspired (- have all decorators gone to the school of boring functionallity?). The cooking facilities were OK for a night but not sufficient if we had stayed longer - but the biggest problem was the noise from Cumberland Street that came right into the apartment.
For the price they were OK - not a great discovery of a wonderful find to recommend to friends - but if you want to visit Cabury's - they are just across the road.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BethDid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

Our family stayed two nights with the Quest Dunedin. The room configuration was one bedroom apartment and a studio apartment joined by a central corridor. This would have worked well, but the lock on the front door was broken. Leaving us only unable to lock each apartment seperately. The apartments were new, clean and self contained with a microwave, cook top, dishwasher and washing machine. Road noise in the front apartments were terrible and we had no sleep at all the first night. After making the staff aware of our problem, we did eventually get moved to the back of the complex. The rooms at the back are much quieter. A word of warning about the bathrooms. There is no form of heating in them (very cold in the winter).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helbelAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stamatt, Managing Director / Franchise Owner at Quest Dunedin, responded to this review, 10 October 2009
Hi helbel09, thanks for your comments, we always appreciate feedback on our property. It is difficult when comments are offered via nom-de-plume but my staff believe they recall your stay. Obviously it is unsatisfactory that your inter-connecting front-door was not in working order, however my staff have informed me that as soon as we were made aware of the issue, a workman was called in (that same day) to address the matter and I can assure you that all such matters are dealt with in the same manner as soon as we are made aware of them. In terms of the noise, I accept that on some days there can be noise distractions, but given our superb location in the middle of the CBD of Dunedin, it has to be expected that there will be some noise at times. Our building is fitted with state-of-the-art 'hush' glass so noise pollution is kept to a minimum. I am also aware that you were accommodated in another apartment immediately upon raising your concern with my staff. Your comments are noted about our bathrooms, however that is the very first time that this matter has been raised by a guest staying with us and the vast majority of comments about our bathroom facilities are extremely complimentary. Again, thanks for your feedback. Kind regards, Matt Scoles, Franchise Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tectrix
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

My Partner and I stayed at the Quest Dunedin for 8 nights as we were in Dunedin looking for an investment property. We wanted accommodation that was not only reasonably cheap but also central and had cooking facilities. The Quest Dunedin ticked all these boxes and we definitely weren't disappointed.

Right from the time of booking the service was first class and we were offered a substantial discount given the length of stay. Upon arriving we parked (only 2 spots for arriving departing guests which could be a problem as street parking could be hard to come by at certain times) and were welcomed and shown to our room promptly.

The room itself was immaculate and extremely modern with high quality fittings and most importantly very warm! My only criticism on the facilities were that there was only a microwave and two hotplates, alright for one/two pot meals but fairly inadequate if you wish to bake anything or make anything a bit out of the box. We regularly put used dishes in the dishwasher before leaving for the day and we usually came back to either a dishwasher full clean dishes or cleaned dishes already in the cupboard! (much appreciated and entirely unexpected)

The bed was the most comfortable I have ever had at a hotel (perhaps a bit too comfortable as it made rising on the cold mornings even more difficult!) and was massive! Couches were perhaps a little small and uncomfortable but where good enough for watching a bit of tellie.

There wasn't much of a view as it is right next to the police station (our room looked right into a police office room) but as we weren't overlooking the main road it was very quiet.

Parking although a little steep at $12.50/day was very handy although we did get a discount due to the length of our stay.

In room internet was fast and reliable and reasonably priced ($50/week), especially considering the prices some internet cafes charge in NZ!

Overall I would recommend the Quest Dunedin to anyone looking for a central city location at a reasonable price, the one-way system goes straight past the hotel so heading out of the hotel for day trips is as easy as. Plus the Cadbury factory is across the road so chocoholics will be happy. Also there are two very good shopping centers a couple of minutes walk either side of the Quest, we couldn't decide which was better but both are open late (Countdown until midnight!) and stock everything you could ever want!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tectrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

stayed here for a business trip, we were speaking at the local University. Quest was reccomended by locals in the area as about the best motel to stay in, We agreed. The hotel staff were very friendly and the rooms very comfortable and clean.

only thing to be wary of is that reception closes at about 6pm. not sure how that would affect you if you flew in very late.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blairegourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

The room was clean and came with kitchen facilities (microwave, sink and utensils). There was secured parking (an option offered to us for free). The location was great as it is within walking distance to the heart of Dunedin. It is our first time in a Quest hotel and it will definitely not be the last - in fact we tried to book a room for Quest Invercagill while staying in Quest Dunedin (which was a last minute decision to visit) and it was all sold out! Don't book expecting a luxury apartment - it offers great value (cleanliness + location) at great prices!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h00ked0ntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.0 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#36 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#46 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#29 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#42 of 58 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Dunedin

Property: Quest Dunedin
Address: 333 Cumberland Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Dunedin 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Dunedin serviced apartments offer guests a relaxed and comfortable Dunedin accommodation experience for overnight visits or for short or long stays, ideal for both the corporate and leisure traveller. Located in the heart of Dunedin, Quest Dunedin is within walking distance to Dunedin CBD known as the Edinburgh of the South with the best preserved Victorian and Edwardian buildings in the southern hemisphere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Quest Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Quest Hotel Dunedin
Dunedin Quest Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing