We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bacchus Wine Bar

Bacchus Wine Bar
Ranked #33 of 330 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I enjoyed one of the best meals I've eaten in Dunedin for a long time. Definately worth going out for. The service was also faultless. Friendly, not pushy or hurried at the end, we stayed to enjoy a coffee and chat for sometime before leaving. The view is great onto the Octagon and the atmosphere cosy.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goforitnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    55
    11
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“World Class Dining With Style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

My wife and I were on a flying visit to Dunedin and stumbled upon Bacchus as we headed to check out the Octagon (the town meeting place).

The friendly and professional restaurant manager was able to squeeze us in at very short notice - the restaurant was very busy and we had a lovely table overlooking the Octagon.

Everything is top class, from the decor to the furnishings to the service team. The friendly and efficient team made the evening very enjoyable.

And then there's the food - absolutely world class that was delicious, fresh and beautifully presented.

There's a comprehensive wine list with many wines by the glass. We had the Dog Point Chardonnay with mains and it was exceptional. A nice dessert wine list was also appreciated.

Overall a very, very impressive restaurant that is superbly run and offering excellent value for money.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBugged2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

My husband and I celebrated our Anniversary at Bacchus after hearing about it for years (when we were still two poor Uni students)! With two years of marriage under our belts we felt it was a very good excuse to spoil ourselves and were curious to see if Bacchus would live up to all the hype and good reviews!

I'm happy to say that our expectations were certainly met in all areas. The restaurant design was very calm and comtemporary, and not too busy (we arrived at 7pm), the service was charming, friendly and professional (we feared it would all be a little too 'formal' for us but were wrong!). Our meals were all just beautiful.

The highlight for me and my sweet-tooth was the Creme Brulee, it was out of this world! We both loved our experience at Bacchus and will be back!

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great local food in a beautiful dining room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Don't let the name Wine Bar fool you, this is a high end restaurant with a great chef who serves up the best of local produce. The staff are attentive and efficient.
If you want to have a quiet meal for two or just eat on your own in quiet surroundings this is the place.
Old world charm with high ceilings and a view back over the Octagon.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DougA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bacchus Wine Bar also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Bacchus Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing