We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Fish & chips in Dunedin”
Review of Best Cafe

Best Cafe
Ranked #18 of 353 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Established in 1932 the Best Cafe is a Dunedin icon. It has been through World War II and the Great Depression and has changed very little over the last 85 years it has been trading. I am very lucky to be running a restaurant that was originally started by my great-grandfather and then passed down to his son and family through until the 1980's. The following proprietors kept the traditions alive to maintain the Best Cafe's great reputation. As the proud owner of our old family restaurant my aim is to provide a truly unique dining experience, one where we can provide old fashioned, friendly service alongside a delicious plate of fresh, local seafood, golden hand cut chips and the best Bluff Oysters in New Zealand. If you want to take a trip down Nostalgia Lane and taste some traditional New Zealand fare then this is the place to visit.
Montbeliard, France
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Worst Fish & chips in Dunedin”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We followed the good reviews and went for a Fish & chips to take away. We were so disappointed! For $5,50, we got 5 small bites of "Fish" : more dough than fish. The chips were small and too fat. Maybe it´s better if you eat in??
Don't go there for the Fish and chips.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isa1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    85
    20
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Fish Cafe”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My friends who live in Dunedin just love the fish and chips here. Non pretentious setting that is close to the railroad station. We had Bluff oysters which are a speciality here on the South Island. The oysters and chips were very tasteful. I did not care much for the tarter sauce. It was bland. The wine selection was limited but reasonably priced. The wait staff was helpful. Not a long wait for food. I would recommend this cafe for anyone visiting Dunedin.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best fish and chips!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I'm normally not a big fan of fish and chips but those served to us by friendly staff in retro surroundings in The Best Cafe were delicious! The freshest of fish (and many types to choose from) together with nice crunchy well cooked chips made a great lunchtime meal. After having visited the Settler's Museum, even the decor fitted in week with our historical mood. Go there if you can - great value too!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great Fish Eatery”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had booked to go here based on reports but my wife took one look through the window and said the lighting was awful and she wasn't going in! Fortunately managed to persuade her that this was the old fashioned style of the place and she should give it a try. So glad we did. The food was excellent. So many different types of fish to choose from. A must if you like fish.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips Ever!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great selection of fresh quality seafood. Especially loved the Blue Cod!
Authentic interior but the food really speaks for itself!
Good location and friendly staff. This place is a great find and a must visit for anyone that enjoys seafood!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NMR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Best Cafe also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Best Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing