We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was excellent - A great feed of Fish and chips”
Review of Best Cafe

Best Cafe
Ranked #16 of 346 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Established in 1932 the Best Cafe is a Dunedin icon. It has been through World War II and the Great Depression and has changed very little over the last 85 years it has been trading. I am very lucky to be running a restaurant that was originally started by my great-grandfather and then passed down to his son and family through until the 1980's. The following proprietors kept the traditions alive to maintain the Best Cafe's great reputation. As the proud owner of our old family restaurant my aim is to provide a truly unique dining experience, one where we can provide old fashioned, friendly service alongside a delicious plate of fresh, local seafood, golden hand cut chips and the best Bluff Oysters in New Zealand. If you want to take a trip down Nostalgia Lane and taste some traditional New Zealand fare then this is the place to visit.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Service was excellent - A great feed of Fish and chips”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Visited in June 2014 as we were hanging out for a serve of Bluff oysters and Southern Blue cod.

This place is a blast from the past with old school decor and classic great service like back in the day.I felt like I had been transported back to the forties but in a good way. We ordered the old school meal at around $42 and wow what a plate full of goodies, Blue cod, oysters, mussels, white bait fritters and so on. We shared between two and we were both full. Noticed the oysters were a little bit more expensive but thats what you get for sit down table service I guess.

The waitress was really friendly, efficient and attentive and made the visit even better. The meal arrived very quickly and was exactly what we were after - Deep south goodness.

Loved the little plate of bread with a few rolls of butter - it was like going to grandmas for a sunday meal.

Big thumbs up from us - I can see why you are a Dunedin icon. We also noticed there is a little takeaway area if you are chasing a cheaper feed of fish and chips. Well done Best Cafe we will be back when in Dunners next.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    80
    20
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tasty Fish and Chips”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We ordered the tarakihi and 2 scoops of chips (wow, thats a lot of chips for $6). The fish was lovely and fresh, as were the golden chips that were definitely freshly cut. Quick and efficient service and very good value for money- don't miss it thinking it's some old grimy place (the decor is not fab, but the food is!)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mackenzie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Always good”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Great seafood and quick service makes it our go to place. Try the blue cod or oysters, you will never be disappointed. Do not miss it

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen_crombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Worth going to for the best cooked oysters or blue cod in town. The decor might seem a little dated but there is superb food, great service., convenient location and good prices. Highly recommended.if you like seafood. o

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
467 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Just Great”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Went back again to check that I was not dreaming the last time I ate here. It's true, they really are the best. Amazing range of fish, beautiful batter, fresh oysters, fries to die for. No wonder t's such a Dunedin legend. Fast, friendly. Miss at your peril

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samandhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Best Cafe also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Best Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing