We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable Meal”
Review of Huntsman Steakhouse - CLOSED

Huntsman Steakhouse
Price range: US$15 - US$27
Cuisines: Steakhouse, New Zealand
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Reasonable Meal”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Was in Dunedin for business and after my meeting wanted a meal and found this restaurant. There was no one else eating there and it was about 8pm on a Wednesday night but we decided that we would try this place anyway. We were greeted by a very friendly Swiss waitress who was very informative and open and questioned her a bit about why we were the only people in there. which she explained Wednesday was always like this. The menu selection was average and as you would expect featured steak and even a menu on what each degree of cooking a steak meant. Ordered a Garlic Bread and we both had steak and the salad bar. The steak was very well cooked and salad bar was disappointing for the price we paid. We enjoyed our meal and service but I felt the price was high for what we received, but the meal was well cooked and tasty.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    16
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Steak Any Way You Like It”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I was impressed that we were greeted enthusiastically as soon as we walked through the door. They have other choices besides steak. Jeanette really enjoyed the fish. Three of us had the fillet mignon and a picture guide as to how we would like the steak cooked was shown to us - such a good idea. - and they were cooked as each of us wanted! A baked potato each (more if we wanted) and self serve salads completed the main meal. Staff were attentive but not intrusive.
A very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Visited this year again, had another wonderful steak cooked exactly to your requirements, many thanks.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Iandalry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great steak”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Loved the steak here - cooked to perfection. Salad bar was average, but if you're going to a steakhouse do you care that much about the salad bar? All the same would have liked more veges than the baked potato that came with the steak and the lettuce and beet root at the salad bar.

Helpful?
Thank Suissegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
2 reviews
“Great service friendly staff”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The steaks are excellent.I could not fault the service. the range of beers were excellent for an establishment of this size. the unlimited salad bar is a great idea especially if you have kids with you. They can tuck in while you wait for your steaks to be cooked.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank waiatoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huntsman Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing