We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great japanese”

Jizo Japanese Cafe and Bar
Ranked #77 of 346 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$14
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great japanese”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I had dinner here based on the reviews to TA. I was very pleased with my meal I had a miso soup, dumplings and chicken vege don all was delicious and up there with some of the best Japanese I have had. The chicken and vege Don could have done with a little less rice and onions and a few more veges but was still great. Also agree with some of the other reviews that it would be good if the tables could be waited on as there seemed to be enough staff to do so and also the main came out too fast as i hadn't finished my dumplings. I would recommend Jizo if you want great tasting affordable Japanese!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katiepie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    51
    10
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My son and I were in Dunedin for the day while cruising New Zealand and could not agree on were to have lunch so decided to try Japanese as we both like it, Jizo is on the main strip, busy for lunch time, we had a nice welcome by friendly staff, sat at the bar as it was pretty full in spite of it we were not rushed. All the dishes on the menu looked very attractive, the meals arrived quickly and were as beautifully cooked as in a five star restaurant, when we got the bill what a surprise, it was really reasonable for the excellent standard, a shame that it is unlikely that we will go back to Dunedin otherwise I would be a regular

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocio d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite place to eat in or out of in Dunedin”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Dine here and take away at least once a week, some times even 3 times a week. Great food. You order at the counter yourself, however the food is worth it, and very good value for money. Best place to eat and best value, have never had a meal from here i have not enjoyed. Would highly recommend! 5 stars

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best japanese ever”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

35 years since I eat sushi with my lovely wife, this is the best we have ever tasted. Simply.
People giving other opinion are just ignoramus or unaware of what a good sushi is...
Thanks a lot for this awesome experience

Helpful?
Thank emilie340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best sushi and miso!!!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Yummy yummy yummy!! had lunch there today and was pleasantly surprised :) cool interior, love the upstairs :) very authentic japanese!! only draw back is self ordering but thats ok! they even do take away!!! :)

will definitely return :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HannahVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jizo Japanese Cafe and Bar also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Jizo Japanese Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing