We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”

Nanking Palace Restaurant and Takeaways
Ranked #277 of 353 Restaurants in Dunedin
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Good Value for Money”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A group of four were we. Ordered four large dishes and ended up cancelling the fourth as the large portions meant we were getting full before finishing the third dish. Recommend the Ma Po Tofu, was the highlight main dish as such. We got a Sizzling ginger beef and a Orange pork ribs as well. Beef was OK but nothing great and the same could be said for the pork ribs. For desert we all had Deep Fried Ice cream Balls, first though, when ordering, was 'bit expensive', they were $11 or $12 I think, but when we got them all was forgiven, big portion, got three balls not the ususal one and the crispy coating was great. Service was fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deltag666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    8
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Foxton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We found the Nanking food to be really good, (maybe a little too much cabbage) well cooked and large portions for an evening meal takeaway, We couldnt eat all of it.
Great to see the staff dressed in white added to a clean tidy atmosphere and always good to be able to watch the chefs cooking the meals.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice food. Not to bad a price”
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

My friends and I went. The first time I had been there. It would of been nice if she had a name tag. She left and the owner. Served us for the rest of the evening

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sting1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We have gone here for the takeaways and find the stir fried veges are always very undercooked and we don't like overcooked either! Language difficulties make being understood difficult. Great range of dish choice though.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HeatherWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Food”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I've had takeaway and dine in a number of times when travelling to Dunedin. It says something when the takeaway staff are wearing clean white clothing. Good quality, fresh food.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nanking Palace Restaurant and Takeaways also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Nanking Palace Restaurant and Takeaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing