We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really disappointing”

Nanking Palace Restaurant and Takeaways
Ranked #276 of 346 Restaurants in Dunedin
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really disappointing”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Lovely friendly waitress and comprehensive menu but quality of food was a big let down. Both the pork dish and the beef dish were full of gristle. Children's meals were ridiculously huge - too big for even an adult. Chicken and corn soup was very good. A Hair in the sundae. We won't be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    8
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great price. ”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Bought takeaways here last night and they were so good and so reasonably priced we went back again tonight for takeaways again. Service was great, didn't wait long and was great to watch the chefs in action cooking our dinner. Will definitely be back next time we visit Dunedin.

Helpful?
Thank Karina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Big & nice restaurant in the center of the city”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Nanking Palace was a big & nice restaurant that's strategically located in the center of the city. This restaurant served big portion food of reasonable taste and completed with fruit dessert of sweet nicely oranges slices. It's clean and tidy restaurant with friendly and helpful staff. Recommended when you are in Dunedin .......

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Octovianus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowtown
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“sensational food”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

my husband and i dined here last night and i have to say it would without a doubt be the best chinese meal i have ever eaten everything was lovely and fresh with great flavours we will definately go back and great value for money

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChristineArrowtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We will be back”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our family had Grand dad's 80th birthday dinner here last night. Great service, very generous, fair price. Friendly atmosphere, very accommodating. Barry K

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 317BarryK317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nanking Palace Restaurant and Takeaways also viewed

 

Been to Nanking Palace Restaurant and Takeaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing