We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quick Lunch”
Review of Nova

Nova
Ranked #9 of 349 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$28
Cuisines: European, Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Quick Lunch”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stopped in to have a quick lunch before heading to Christchurch. The servers were friendly, the atmosphere was typical cafe and the food was decent. Nothing amazing but a nice lunch.

I had the novo burger and my husband had the seafood stew/soup.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    199
    51
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us and we walked down the hill to check it out. The menu looked great but it certainly was busy and we didn't have reservations.

We decided to see if they had a table for four. It was amazing but one had just opened up.

The service was excellent and so was the food. We shared a starter sampler and our waitress gave us four soups rather than than the two that came with the appetizer. We also had the vegetarian risotto. Everything was excellent.

The wine and beer selection was varied.

I would recommend Nova and go back again when we are in Dunedin.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank chasemarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Delicious food, great atmosphere, perfect location in the heart of the Octogan and friendly staff. Would highly recommend, thanks :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch in premium location”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had lunch with friends today in this well-designed cafe in Dunedin's beautiful Octagon adjacent to the stunning Art Gallery. Top service, well-presented friendly people serving good (very good) food. The water was cool, fresh and plentiful, my gumbo bursting with seafood and very tasty, and my friends both enjoyed the fry - well-presented with bacon. All the iron anyone could ask for. All reasonably priced, quickly served and most satisfactory. Pleased to recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samandhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We return time and time again because of the location......we were going to The Regent Theatre....., the service and above all the food. The wait staff are attentive, and our water glasses always full. We have never had a lengthy wait before the food arrived. The portions are generous, beautifully presented and flavoursome. I enjoyed my Seafood Laksa more than the same dish eaten in Asia....the difference was the quality of the seafood.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cromwellwandercats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nova also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing