We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best cafe experience ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nova

Nova
Ranked #9 of 330 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$28
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
dunedin
1 review
“Best cafe experience ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Absolutely amazing. A long time customer and continuously impressed by the fabulous coffee, food and above all - service. Recommended for all. Nova knows hospitality like no other. Thanks to the brilliant team!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    185
    48
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great coffee, lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Great coffee in a lovely warm setting located in the Octagon. Great cakes too. Try the almond and orange cake.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank browny47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“On a date”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

After walking in and out of another "loud" restaurant nearby we walked in to Nova in the Octagon. Me being a chef, obviously enter in any food outlet with some expectation. 10 out of 10 in all aspects. Friendly, clean, great ambiance, good menu variety, and fast service, to mention a few. I placed a question about a particular vine advertised, and staff bent backwards to get the answer in a very professional manner. We'll done!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olive T, General Manager at Nova, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Cheers Markus!

Thanks for the great feedback! Hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always great coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Called in while family at the chocolate factory to catch up on emails and make a few calls.
Table service with smiles and complimentary sparkling water.
Great coffees and service, even as it filled up with holidaying children.

Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A rainy brunch ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Nova is lovely! I went yesterday for brunch with my partner, the lady that welcomed us and seated us was a bit unwelcoming and we didn't like how our conversation was interrupted by them to ask how our food was. But the place was packed and had a lovely atmosphere, not to forget but they served us great food!! I had the French Toast and my partner he had the nova breakfast which were both delish! I think the price was around the right mark for it being in the octagon a bit expensive but we would sure go again! Next time we wanna try the dinner menu! Yummmmmmmmm!

Helpful?
Thank Alysha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nova also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing