We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“delicious Thai cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Hanoi Restaurant

Thai Hanoi Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 325 Restaurants in Dunedin
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“delicious Thai cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We've enjoyed a few meals here over the last year, and will definitely be back. The food is very well presented, and tastes so good. I last had the pork pad thai, and it was sensational. Keep it up!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TeresaS812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    34
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good flavours, too much fat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

I came with my husband and had the pork meatballs with vermicelli and salad. I love Vietnamese vermicelli and salad so that was great. The meatballs tasted ok but were WAY too fatty. I don't know if there was something bad in the food or if my stomach just reacted badly to all that fat, but I did not feel good overnight. Cheap, busy and lots to choose from.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireNZ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

This restaurant was just the best it was a busy week for Dunedin with a lot of sport teams there and they were not fazed by the amount of people there, when we were there.They did not hurry us through and just took it in there stride.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Madeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Much, much better than it looks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Very inconspicuous from the road, Thai Hanoi is a little gem and well worth a visit.

Great menu range, good service and sensible prices. I travel to Dunedin regularly on business and have to make a concerted effort not to eat at Thai Hanoi every night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulrproctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin New zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Return often”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Great food and service every time. Really enjoy going here especially just before or after a movie

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Abi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Hanoi Restaurant also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Thai Hanoi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing