We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Terrace Bar

The Terrace Bar
Ranked #76 of 329 Restaurants in Dunedin
Cuisines: New Zealand, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Having dined here a number of times in the past we were disappointed with our meals this time. While the service was excellent the portion size was very small with heaps of salad to fill the plate. We were left wanting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 870AnnetteW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    36
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, Parana, Brazil
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stone grill is always delicious !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

After I have tried the stone grill in Lake Tekapo I became a fan of it ! I was very happy when I found it in Dunedin . The people are friendly and the service very good .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good meal in the Octagon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed in Dunedin one Saturday night in February during our first trip to South Island. Having looked at several restaurant menus we chose The Terrace partly because there were several things on the menu we would happily eat and partly because the place was very busy - we feel that a place is normally busy for good reason.
They found us a table in the bar area and we were able to watch the rugby on the nearby big screen - the fact the local team were in action and winning obviously added to the atmosphere.
Unfortunately we weren't able to try out the stonegrill as they were all in use.
However I had the salmon, which was delicious and my husband had a steak which he said was excellent.
Given how busy the place was, we didn't have to wait too long for either food or drinks.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and I would go back if I'm ever in Dunedin again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent stonegrill not to miss, but do not expect a nice ambiente”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We went twice there awesome stonegrill food nice garlic butter and pretty fast service the first time...
Second time we had to wait for getting the menus and stuff about 20minutes after that I asked and then we were served pretty quick and the staff apologised for the wait immediately. No ambience in the bar, do not expect anything!
But if your after a nice meal in dunedin it's definitely a good address!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Livio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bromsgrove
Level Contributor
235 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good meal served by a lovely waitress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

When we arrived the waitress informed us that a large party had just put their order in, but as there was only two of us she would ask chef if he could do ours first otherwise we would have a long wait. I have never experienced that before. The food was well presented and well cooked. A very enjoyable evening in a restaurant with a lovely atmosphere

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alysonBromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Terrace Bar also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to The Terrace Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing