We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Embarrassing.”
Review of Zucchini Bros

Zucchini Bros
Ranked #23 of 332 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$21
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For Dunedin's most loved pizza and pasta over many years, come to Zucchini Bros. Freshly made pizza and pasta using quality seasonal local ingredients to creat delicious flavours. Locally made craft beers, wines and juices are also on the menu, as is homemade desserts.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Embarrassing.”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It’s always disappointing when a restaurant is let down by unprofessional service but it was embarrassing for my local hosts, hoping to show me the best of Dunedin. Staff are young and friendly but clearly lack training from a careless management. The food is basic, using some good ingredients but as far from Italian as Dunedin is from Napoli; in itself not too much of a problem…. But at the best part of $30 for a pizza!…. I’m afraid that is taking the Micky.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlmightyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    75
    22
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good pizza”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by our B&B hosts and it was very good; full of families, students and others. We were not that hungry but managed a pizza each (different but both perfect) with a nicely composed green salad with just the right amount of dressing. Too full for much more we shared a generous portion of vanilla ice cream with an excellent caramel sauce. Service was less than express (not that we like to be hurried) but I suspect it was because we hit the busy time with two big parties in front of us; given that, it was quite good enough! If we were here long enough we would certainly go back. One birthday boy got a nice-looking cake (can't have been bad as the remains went out in a doggy bag).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrewnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Had the special which was Pasta with chicken, peas, boccoli and pesto sauce. When it came out i think they must of forgotten the chicken peas and broccoli. Im seriour here we counted the chicken and its was sammled that a 10c peice and i had 6 of these along with 7 peas and 2 floretts of broccoli.
I have dined here b4 and had a great meal but this time not so and im not sure if i would go back.
When i mentioned it to the staff they reply was"well at least it tasted good"

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great week spot”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Busy restaurant on a thursday night good indication of its popularity. Food pasta and pizzas with good variety to choose from.Good value for money except afragato dessert a bit pricey for what it was.Atmosphere and service both excellent.Well worth a visit

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This must be a joke”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We ordered twomof the easiest plates: a large pizza with bacon, mushrooms and schrimp, and carbonara pasta. Pizza is worst than those frozen ones. And carbonara pasta seemed to have been cooked two days ago. The woed al dente is just the opposite. It is really difficult to get a carbonara plate absolutely tasteless. And by the way, it is not cheap either.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zucchini Bros also viewed

 
 

Been to Zucchini Bros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing