We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
339
82
5
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
82
5
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspost officevalet parkingwashing machine and dryerpush buttonwonderful hotelparking buildingnight light in the bathroomcomfortable bedfamily suitean executive suiteloved this hotelrooms are beautifulheritage buildingrestaurant downstairshuge bedfantastic roomgenerous size
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017

What a wonderful hotel is the Distinction Dunedin Hotel. Centrally located this hotel features very well appointed rooms with the most comfortable beds. What I was impressed with was the excellent quality furnishings, carpet, tiles, stone bench tops and a spacious shower. Room also included a washing machine and dryer so those travelling will welcome the opportunity to wash a few clothes within the comfort of your room.

Breakfast presented a good buffet with a selection to satisfy most guests, fresh array of juices along with cereals and cooked breakfast foods.

I will definitely stay at this hotel if visiting Dunedin, centrally located and high quality.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dingo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Paul D,

Thank you for the exceptional comments. As a team, it's always incredibly rewarding to receive the kind of feedback you've provided.

We hope to see you at Distinction Dunedin again in the near future!

Warm regards,

Tobias Daniels
Executive Assistant Manager
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

As per recent reviews, this is a very nice hotel. Our room was a good size, very clean and modern and with a really comfortable bed. Washer and dryer in a bathroom closet, dual rain-head shower with electronic touch control - excellent. Double glazing meant that it was very quiet. Hotel carpark is opposite meaning there is little waiting for the car to be valet returned. Staff are friendly and efficient. Hotel is well located, good restaurant onsite. Only downside is that there's no view from our room - just a drab office building. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Brett F,

Many thanks for the very positive comments and 5-star review.

We're delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay at Distinction Dunedin. I do hope that the very central location and convenience of the hotel made up for the slightly drab views.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Tobias Daniels
Executive Assistant Manager
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

This is a very well appointed hotel in a central location. The staff were very helpful and friendly. My 8th floor room was fitted with a kitchenette and was modern and very clean. The bathroom was spotless and despite being on the top floor the hot water pressure was excellent and did not fluctuate. I missed not having a bedside clock.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Edith3032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear Edith3032,

Thank you for the terrific comments.

We certainly are very lucky to occupy such a unique and historic building while still enjoying the benefit of modern amenities, such as great little kitchenettes, modern bathrooms with excellent water pressure, and the handy washer/dryers.

For your next stay, please don't hesitate to contact me directly and I'll ensure that your room/suite is furnished with a bedside clock as well.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Warm regards,

Tobias Daniels
Executive Assistant Manager
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Distinction Dunedin. The room was luxurious with the ability to control the air conditioning. The bathroom had all the accessories and amenities. Slippers and bathrobes were supplied. This hotel exceeded by expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ahenata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Ahenata,

Thank you for choosing Distinction Dunedin.

We're delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations, which is our ultimate goal for every guest that stays with us.

We hope to raise the bar even higher on your next visit!

Warm regards,

Tobias Daniels
Executive Assistant Manager
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

This is a great hotel, very close to the centre of Dunedin. It is an old building that has been refurbished to a very high standard. The bedrooms are immaculate - spotlessly clean and very well furnished with all the facilities you would expect of a top hotel. A big bonus was the washer and dryer in the hotel room which is great it you are travelling around and don't want to waste time trying to find an off site laundry.

It has great access to many facilities - all within walking distance. It is only a few minutes walk to the railway station which runs daily scenic tours, the chocolate factory and the brewery. The chocolate factory and the brewery both do daily tours which are well worth it.

This hotel is an excellent choice for a place to spend a couple of days exploring the sights in and around Dunedin.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pam004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Pam004,

Thank you for for the fantastic review and detailed comments about the hotel and its surrounds. I'm sure the TA community will find these extremely helpful.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Tobias Daniels
Executive Assistant Manager
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews