We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$164
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$140
View deal
PricelineUS$164
Expedia.comUS$163
eDreamsUS$164
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
461
112
11
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
461
112
11
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews post office washing machine and dryer great hotel push button one bedroom suite comfortable bed generous size historic building huge bathroom hotel room appointed rooms railway station central location centre of town comfortable stay parcel shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 595 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2019

Excellent room, good parking, facilities all as you would expect from a high star hotel. Booking in was simple. We decided that on the second night of our stay we would book a meal for three in the Restaurant. We walked in and requested a table for 6:30. We were told there was a big tour party of 21 coming in at 7 and they were the priority so they couldnt promise we would get our food on time as the order might clash with the tour group. We explained we were looking for a table 30 minutes before the large party. Again an explanation our order may get delayed. We decided that we were given the cold shoulder because they were busy and didnt want any more work. There were a number of tables in the restaurant, so I would expect them to be able to serve a number of guests. The restaurant is only open 6-9:30 anyway so bookings are concentrated. We decided that with that poor regard for us as staying guests we would eat elsewhere. Maybe we were in the wrong frame of mind when we checked out but all we were asked was did you take anything from the mini bar? There was no question if we enjoyed the stay, hope to see us again etc.
I am sure tours fill rooms, but they will no doubt be heavily discounted, and as frequent visitors to Dunedin, we will probably revert back to Scenic hotel. (we were interested to see what the Distinction offered)

Facilities are one thing and having large booking is good but everyone is a customer with money and deserve better care.

Room tip: higher the floor the better the view
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glennnewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2019

Hi glennnewark,

Thank you for your review. It is very nice to receive feedback concerning your recent visit to Distinction Dunedin.

It is lovely that your room, the parking arrangements and general facilities were well received.

Regarding your comments about Parcels Restaurant, I have spoken with the team concerned and they advise that, as per usual practice, you were informed of the several imminent large groups booked to dine that evening. The reason for this advice is that guests can then make an informed decision based on this knowledge.

Further to this, several smaller tables were also booked that night over a time span coinciding with the tour groups. This may not have been apparent, because they had yet to arrive in Parcels. While we appreciate that you were hotel guests, this was also true of the tour groups and the other aforementioned bookings.

While you evidently feel as though you were given the "cold shoulder" I can assure you that this is not the case in fact. On the contrary, disclosing the reality of the situation is aimed at assisting guests. Being informed of any as yet unseen existing reservations then allows prospective diners to make an informed decision and choose their options based on that advice.

On checkout, we typically ask all of our guests if they have used any minibar items, if they enjoyed their stay and that we hope to see them again. It is therefore unusual and unfortunate if this was not your experience. Thanks for bringing this point to our attention.

Thanks again, and we hope to see you in future.

Best regards

Nigel
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2019 via mobile

Traveling through New Zealand on a 16 day trip and this was one of our stops. What a nice surprise to find our own washer and dryer in our room. Much appreciated on a long trip. Room was very comfortable and modern. Great nights rest.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Francesjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2019

Hello Francesjr,

We thank you sincerely for commenting on your time at Distinction Dunedin.

We also hope that you had a pleasant 16 days in the country. It is most pleasing that your in-room laundry facilities provided you an opportunity to refresh your clothing, something which can be a challenge on such an extended, wide-ranging expedition.

It is excellent that our modern rooms optimised your comfort generally, and specifically enabled a great nights rest, such a fundamental facet of any accommodation.

Many gracious thanks and we hope we can meet again.

Kind regards

Nigel
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2019

This hotel was in a converted 1937 post office, opening as a hotel in 2015. Our bedroom was of a decent size with a large ensuite containing a large shower. The bonus was a washing machine and dryer in the bedroom which was extremely useful and a facility that was a first for me. There were plenty of electric sockets. Breakfast was a good buffet and staff were very pleasant.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank raymarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2019

Hi Ray,

Thank you for your comments. It is great that you appreciate the recent refurbishment of the erstwhile Dunedin Chief Post Office. While the building's essence has been retained, the addition of all contemporary accoutrements demanded by our discerning guests sees the past intersecting with the present. The result makes for a very attractive accommodation option in the centre city.

We are glad that your room was so apt, and that our team were their typically delightful selves, displaying their highly developed winning attitudes and considerate natures. It is nice too that the in-room sockets were sufficiently numerous to adequately meet your ancillary electrical needs.

Many thanks again. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Nigel
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2019

We were touring the South Island on motorcycles and Dunedin was about 4 days into the trip. It was raining most of the day and we were pretty travel weary. The washer and dryer in the room was so nice! We were able to wash, but most importantly, DRY our clothes. The staff were very gracious and accommodating. We had breakfast in the dining room the next morning. The buffet was pleasing and the coffee delicious.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank NZ1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2019

Hi Maggie and Dave,

It is lovely to receive your very kind review. Thank you very much for giving us your thoughts on your experience at Distinction Dunedin.

We are so pleased that the washer and dryer in your room was just what the doctor ordered. No doubt being exposed to the elements on motorcycles means risking an imminent drenching, depending on the time of year, and given these southern latitudes, so our in-room laundries are excellent for freshening up and continuing one's travels.

It is wonderful that our staff were their usual gracious and accommodating selves, embodying our famous Southern Hospitality. We are also pleased that the breakfast buffet and the espresso coffee at Parcels Restaurant ensured an excellent start to the day.

Many thanks again for your contribution. It would be marvelous to see you again.

Kind regards

Nigel
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2019

We stay there for a single night on our way down south. The staff were helpful, happy, and friendly. The room was large, quiet and comfortable. My son has stayed here and says the gym is very good. The hotel is close to all kinds of things around the Octagon.
Parking is provided but does cost $20. The showers are most excellent. They were very accommodating when we asked for early check-in. In the right rooms you would have great views of the Otago harbour, though we did not. It would make sense to ask for such. The room had a wee kitchen (microwave) and a fridge/sink toaster (and a washing machine!) so for longer term visitors you could self-cater breakfast. The building itself is restored and quite impressive.

Room tip: Ask for a view of Otago harbour.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rod d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DistinctionDunedin, Manager at Distinction Dunedin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2019

Hi Rodney,

We appreciate and thank you for taking a moment to provide some thoughts on your recent visit.

It is wonderful that all aspects met with your assent, from the room itself and the fully equipped gym on the 3rd Floor, to our helpful, happy and friendly team and Distinction Dunedin's handy locale.

We receive much positive comment on our 'rainfall' showers and are glad that you too felt they are an excellent feature in all of our rooms.

It is fantastic that the team could expedite your early check in. While such arrangements are of course contingent upon occupancy levels and therefore on room turn over, we are nonetheless receptive to such requests and endeavour to action them on a reasonable basis.

Many thanks again Rodney. Do drop-in and see us again if the situation permits.

Best regards

Nigel
Distinction Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews