We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi to take away - unlimited pickled ginger, soy sauce and wasabi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of savoury Japan

savoury Japan
Ranked #195 of 330 Restaurants in Dunedin
Cuisines: Japanese, Fast food, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Sushi to take away - unlimited pickled ginger, soy sauce and wasabi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I haven't eaten in the restaurant but have tried the takeaway sushi. Ymmmmm. You can pick it up from the cabinets or ask for it to be made fresh. They do it for you no problem. I like the tuna and avacado. One thing I love about sushi is the pickled ginger and wasabi with a coating of soy sauce. They have these little pottles you can fill to your heart content and takeaway. I fill one with ginger completely per pack I buy - if I buy a couple of sushi packs I might fill an extra. The packs are eight pieces and reasonably priced. Good for lunch or dinner. If I am having people over and want nibbly things I buy a few of these - usually vegetarian ones just in case - and put my little treasure trove from the pottles in little dishes. Very tasty, very reasonable and very popular. I notice lots of high school kids spend time in there getting food and you can get a bit trampled so timing it everything. The food being delivered to people eating in the restaurant looks and smells good - but I haven't tried it because I am a bit of a creature of habit. Soooo worth a look, and a taste. Lots of sushi flavours - something for everyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Styly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sushi with great price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Having Japanese cuisine in Dunedin is quite costly to International Students. Savory Japan may not be the best Japanese restaurant in town but it does have reasonable price of sushi like 8 pieces for just $6.50. The second best thing is the crispy chicken roll, that's a MUST TRY!! omg! that's the best ever! I love it! Every time I visited here, I must have a chicken roll!! :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemonnnn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Used to visit here often for sushi especially. Most recent visits have been disappointing. Sushi not as good as I remember and other meals not as good either.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElisseC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“always heading over there, but bad music.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

The salmon rice ball is probably the best (non-pie) lunch for under $5 in Dunedin. Unlike many of the other places, you can load up your plate with wasabi, pickled ginger, etc. and make a real go of it. The service is friendly, they have a high turnover so the food is fresh, and I end up heading over there at least once a week.

However, get ready for a blast of bad music. One day it's 80's, the next they were playing the same Chris Brown song over and over again. It's easy to take it in as part of the scene, though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lagu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great sushi and stirfry spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

Savoury Japan offers dine-in or take-away service for their extensive selection of sushi, noodle, and rice dishes. I visited on a Wednesday afternoon and my teriyaki chicken stirfry was ready very quickly after placing my order. The place was absolutely buzzing with school kids, so obviously they've won over the local crowd. The portions here were huge, especially considering the stirfry was less than $10! The amount of chicken alone left me very satisfied. Good taste and great value - check it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed savoury Japan also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to savoury Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing