We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hosts and clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Dunedin
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hosts and clean rooms”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here for three nights over New Years and have enjoyed our stay very much.
Nice and quiet! Lots of sky channels for the rainy days. Dining options close by, welcoming owners have lots of tips and recommendations for places to see and go to.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilaleni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay! We really appreciate your comments! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    49
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
63
15
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay at Dunedin Bella Vista.
Spotlessly clean rooms and very friendly hosts, John the owner informed us on all the must do things in Dunedin and we had a great time there.
We would definitely stay at Bella Vista again when in Dunedin

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwi5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review Bella Vista Dunedin. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and found or standards in line with the high standards of other Bella Vista throughout New Zealand. All the best for the new year! Sincerely John and Robyn :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We stayed at the Bella Vista before a biking the Otago trail, and then again after we finished the trail three days later. Robyn was a fantastic host. We were given tips and information for restaurants and points of interest in Dunedin. Since we were taking a train, they let us leave our car in their back lot for the 3 days while we were on the trail and arranged the cab ride for us over to the train station. The room was spacious, and comfortable. We were also able to do laundry there which was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thanks for your review, and thanks for your kind comments. You are very welcome! We are more than happy to store vehicles in our personal parking area at no charge, and hope that you enjoyed all our recomendations. Sincerely R :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

A couple of kms out of the city centre and many of the nearby dining options are fairly studenty. But good spacious units with electric blankets on the beds (not always a given in NZ motels) and friendly owners. Quieter than I thought it would be.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank EllieCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshbydelaZouch
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

As with other Bella Vista motels we have visited, we were not disappointed. The friendly hosts provided us with good tips on where to eat, where to visit (the bolders ! ) etc. and the clean and comfortable studio apartment suited our needs. The motel is well located and an easy walk into the city centre - though surrounded by roadworks during our stay, we didn't experience any noise and overall found it a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thanks for posting a review! We are glad that you had a consistently good stay through-out the Bella Vista Network. No masty surprises along the way!! Yes, it is an easy walk to the city centre and a good opportunity to get orientated. We were worried about the road works outside for the period that you stayed, so it's great that the "Hush Glass" did it's job and your sleep wasn't disturbed. Have a great 2013.
R and J :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We had a deluxe studio room which the manager suggested would be better than a compact since we were staying for 3 days. This was at no extra cost because I had a senior's card. She is a lovely person who goes out of her way to be friendly and helpful and made our stay most enjoyable. Although a couple of kms north of the CBD, there was plenty of eating places nearby plus walking distance to supermarket and botanical gardens. Kitchen facilities were adequate for our holiday stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our motel in Dunedin. We really appreciate that.We pride ourselves on trying to go that "extra mile" for our guests so we are glad that you were thrilled with the service that you got! Warm Regards Robyn and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The owners were very helpful and friendly. Although we had the compact studio it suited our needs for our stay in Dunedin. There were plenty of eateries close by. Handy to most attractions.
A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The compact studio is really compact but it is good value. If you don't spend much time in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anglen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thanks very much folks! Glad that you enjoyed your stay!
Robyn :-) and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#31 of 61 in Dunedin
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Commodore Motel
Commodore Motel
#44 of 61 in Dunedin
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 61 in Dunedin
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#26 of 61 in Dunedin
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
538 Great King Motel
538 Great King Motel
#18 of 61 in Dunedin
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Dunedin

Property: Bella Vista Dunedin
Address: 704 Great King Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Dunedin 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Dunedin motel accommodation is a great spot from which to explore the city and the surrounding Otago region, in New Zealand's beautiful south. We realize you might have a limited time frame, so our systems are easy to ensure that you make the most of your hassle free stay. Your hosts, Robyn and Garry are warm, friendly and helpful. There is so much to see in and around Dunedin and they are more than happy to share all their knowledge and ideas. They want your stay to be enjoyable, whether its business or pleasure, so they will go the extra mile to ensure you have a great stay. If you'd like Robyn and Garry help you plan your Dunedin trip - you need only ask! Bella Vista Dunedin is centrally located and within walking distance to Restaurants,City Centre, the University of Otago, Otago Museum, Dunedin Hospital, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Logan Park, Alister McMiillan Hockey Turf and the Botanical Gardens and we are just a short drive from Mercy Hospital. Our motel-style accommodation comprises 16 superior suites, featuring one and two-bedroom motel units, with a comprehensive range of facilities. The self-contained, non-smoking suites are available in an assortment of configurations to suit families, corporate stays and travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bella Vista Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing