We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Dunedin
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Reasonably priced, motorcycle friendly, close to city. Student flats next door, they get a little loud. Room very small. Staff excellent and very helpful. I use Bellavista alot, I think this one is fairly old.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenslandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased that you found us reasonably priced. Prices are usually set in line with the local demand at the time. ie Specials in the quieter seasons. We do have larger units compared to our wee "Compact" Studios if you are looking for a little extra room.Being close to the city we all have some issues with noise from time to time however we supply ear plugs free of charge to any "light sleepers".Usually our "Hush Glass" works sufficiently well though. Great that you use the Bella Vista Group regularly. People love the consistancy of the chain Hope to see you again! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    49
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
63
15
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at the Bella Vista for a night. Unfortunately it was a Saturday night, and being down the student end of town it was very noisy. We had the squarking and shreiking and shouting of drunken students as they all went to town in the late evening, and then again as they all trickled home in the early hours. At about 3am, two cars decided to have what I can only describe as "horn wars" over the back fence of the hotel which went on for about half an hour.
Noise aside, the place was very clean and tidy, the bedding was fresh and nice and the towels were good quality. There were tea and coffee making facilities and we were given fresh milk when we arrived. There was a kitchen which we didn't use but it was well equipped. There wasn't much of a view - just the carpark and drive thru of KFC. They had free parking and info on tourist attractions etc. It was a bit cold and damp when we arrived so it might have been nice if they had turned a heater on half an hour before we said we were coming but it heated up pretty quickly so no dramas. WiFi was a bit of a pain - it lasted for two hours only, then you have to go back to reception to get another piece of paper with a different code on it. But it wasn't too big of a deal and just nice to have free internet :)
Would recommend staying here on a weeknight unless you're a deep sleeper as it was quite loud on the weekend night we stayed here. The price was reasonable and when calling to book I asked if it was their best price and they took twenty bucks off the cost of the room - asking paid off!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aababa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us.We are glad that you found our units clean, tidy and well equiped.There must have been a misunderstanding with the Wifi as we are happy to give you as much as you need.Sorry if that was not clearly established on check in. :-) We generally don't turn the heaters on before guests arrive as it it very difficult to judge arrival times and environmentally we try not to waste energy unnessessarily.However the rooms do heat up quickly though, as you describe.
Dunedin is a great city and the University gives it a vibrance like no other. I can only apologize if you struck a weekend when there was noise in the streets. This happens from time to time as in any large city. There is "Hush Glass" in our doors and windows, and we state in our compendium that complimentary ear plugs are available at the office for those who are light sleepers.Once again, apologies if this was not explained clearly on check in. Yes, we have Free car parking and are happy to provide tourist information, make bookings for you and share our "local" knowledge to help you make the most of your stay. Hope to see you another time. Thanks Sincerely Robyn :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Bella Vista was a wonderful stop on our New Zealnd Journey. Robyn & John were both very kind and gave us all sorts of helpful advice and recomendations to make our stay even more memoriable!! We highly recomend this hotel to anyone in the area!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Thanks for your geneous review. We are so glad that we were able to contribute to your stay in Dunedin being memorable, and that you found our motel "outstanding". I clearly remember our guests from Tennessee - you were "fun". It certainly makes all the effort worthwhile when we hear nice feedback. Sincere thanks! Robyn and John :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Location - Location - Location, University and Botanic Gardens close by ... and nice and quiet, considering its on the main one way street northwards. Fresh and clean units.
BEDS EXCELLENT - HOT WATER - PLENTY!
Very nice owners who went out of their way to make my stay great.
Food close by - even a decent dairy and a multitude of "brand" fast food... not that the waistline needs that.
My first trip back to Dunedin in three years and I was very comfortable at Bella Vista.
A top quality motel unit with nice people

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us Jeff!. We are thrilled that you found everything met your expectations.We love people, and it gives us a lot of pleasure to "go the extra mile" to try to make your stay a good one! Yes, we are a very handy location and our staff pride themselves on keeping the rooms clean and comfortable.I will pass on your comments to them. Hope to see you in another 3 years!!! Many thanks! Robyn for John and Robyn :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Bella Vista is exactly what you need when you are in an unknown city. The owners are incredibly helpful and friendly and make you feel very welcome. They are accommodating and attentive.

The room we stayed in was upstairs and very clean. The rooms are surprisingly soundproof given that the hotel is located in the town centre next to many pubs and restaurants. They are a good size with an amazing shower! they are warm and well furnished.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilieJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Hi Folks! Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very pleased that you found the rooms to your liking. Yes, they are soundproofed and the "Hush Glass" works well if windows and doors are closed. Our showers are fed with direct mains pressure, so that is why they are excellent showers! Great after a long days travelling, or on the Otago Peninsula.We appreciate the fact that you have acknowledged that we were helpful and attentive.It's really just a matter of treating people the way we'd want to be treated ourselves while on holiday in a foreign country. Many thanks. Perhaps we'll see you again in th future! R and J :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I was very happy with my stay here great to find everything i could need in my room. Also note the rooms were very tidy. Had great night sleep will stay again. Location was the reason for staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you had a great stay and found the unit had everything that you needed.Our staff pride themselves in keeping the units lovely and clean and tidy. I will pass your comments on to them.No doubt we'll see you another time!
Robyn :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motueka, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We chose this motel as it was close to the stadium where we were attending the Ride The Wave.
There are an abundance of fast food outlets close by, this has pluses and minuses, handy for food but noisy first thing in the morning, with delivery's and rubbish removal. A party in the flats opposite also detracted from a good nights sleep, though no fault of the motel. The bed was so, so with foam chip pillows also a negative. The toilet seat had to be held up otherwise it snapped down in an alarming fashion. Even the lid had a nasty habit of self closing when least expected.
That said the place was clean and for the most part reasonably comfortable, the staff were very helpful. Maybe we were expecting a bit much as we had an excellent night at the Asure Timaru the previous night.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mot_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#30 of 61 in Dunedin
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
285 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Commodore Motel
Commodore Motel
#43 of 61 in Dunedin
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 61 in Dunedin
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Dunedin

Property: Bella Vista Dunedin
Address: 704 Great King Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Dunedin 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Dunedin motel accommodation is a great spot from which to explore the city and the surrounding Otago region, in New Zealand's beautiful south. We realize you might have a limited time frame, so our systems are easy to ensure that you make the most of your hassle free stay. Your hosts, Robyn and Garry are warm, friendly and helpful. There is so much to see in and around Dunedin and they are more than happy to share all their knowledge and ideas. They want your stay to be enjoyable, whether its business or pleasure, so they will go the extra mile to ensure you have a great stay. If you'd like Robyn and Garry help you plan your Dunedin trip - you need only ask! Bella Vista Dunedin is centrally located and within walking distance to Restaurants,City Centre, the University of Otago, Otago Museum, Dunedin Hospital, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Logan Park, Alister McMiillan Hockey Turf and the Botanical Gardens and we are just a short drive from Mercy Hospital. Our motel-style accommodation comprises 16 superior suites, featuring one and two-bedroom motel units, with a comprehensive range of facilities. The self-contained, non-smoking suites are available in an assortment of configurations to suit families, corporate stays and travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing