We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bella Vista Dunedin
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Sadly we stayed here just as the university students were coming back to town, and our time here was ruined by the parties and general noise coming from nearby houses. However we would stay here again, the room was nice if not on the small size, but the bed was comfy and the bedroom clean, there is also plenty of onsite parking. This motel is not centrally located so you cannot walk to the town, but there are shops and places to eat nearby if required. The owners are very nice people who had a lovely way about them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandDinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thanks for taking time out to review your stay with us. We are glad that you found the room lovely and clean and the bed comfortable. Dunedin city is a University city so from time to time there is noisy, so apologies for any discomfort you may have experienced. We do provide complimentary ear plugs as a gesture for light sleepers. When I walk into the shops it takes me 10 minutes at a steady pace, ( an easy walk)so I'm sorry if that hadn't been explained to you on check in. Hope to see you sometime in the future. Robyn :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Dunedin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

Wonderful people and always have a smile. Bela vista is always my first preference of stay in Dunedin. Thanks for the warm welcome always when arriving. Rooms are great and feels like home when staying. Have all u need and best of all the 50+ sky channels.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 690vaughnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thanks for your lovely review! We are pleased that you feel "at home" here at Bella Vista Dunedin. Warm Regards Robyn and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I had a couple of busy days in Dunedin with my 3 yr old daughter - the room was well equipped, warm, shower was lovely and bed was huge and comfortable. I'm very fussy on cleanliness and couldn't fault this room. Great car parking, reasonable room rate and close to uni and daughters hostel nearby uni - we'll be rebooking next year. Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thanks for your kind review Charlotte!
We are thrilled that your stay was a nice one. Yes, the shower pressure is great! Mains fed! We get a lot of feedback about our comfortable beds, so glad that you liked them too. I will pass your comments on to our staff, because they are very fussy about their standards of cleanliness also and it's nice to have that acknowledged. :-) Glad you found our rates reasonable and the car parking very good. Happy holidays, and we look forward to seeing you again in the new year!
Sincerely Robyn and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed there in Sep 2013, the room was small and we can hardly move after putting our bags. The motel was located near fast food and pizza restaurant and a short drive away from the Dunedin University and train station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank accura_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Hi
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your feedback and wish to let you know for future visits that we do have other larger options if our "Compact" studio doesn't suit? We are just one block away from the university of Otago, so you probably didn't need to drive.:-)
Hope to see you again sometime in the future
Kind Regards Robyn :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We are completing our third week in New Zealand so maybe I'm becoming too picky but this was a small room. In fact it is smallest of all the rooms we have stayed in. To be fair it was a "compact studio" which should have have set off bells. We stayed here two nights and the room was clean and the bed comfortable. When we checked in we were given a bottle of milk for our tea or coffee and shown to our room. Now after three weeks my wife has become adept at making plunger coffee. Their was a packet of plunger coffee supplied for the first morning which she used to make coffee. When we returned to our room later that day, besides the trash not being emptied, they had not replenished the plunger coffee packet. When I asked at the desk the lady told me that they only supply one packet and there would be a charge for any additional packets. This did not make sense to me because we were staying two nights. Other places we have stayed have always replenished the coffee packets each day. The other troublesome issue was the internet. We were given a slip of paper when we checked in with an access code and told we would receive 200 megabytes of data which was sufficient. When I logged in the first time there were only 63 megabytes remaining. When I brought this to the attention of the receptionist, she could not explain it and gave me another access code. When I logged in with this one the first time there were only 43 megabytes remaining. We just used what was available. The people we dealt with were friendly and I have no complaints there.

Room Tip: Don't book a compact studio. There are other choices.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Hi
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. It sounds like your expectations were not met, as they should have been, and for this we are extremely sorry. From time to time we take a much needed break, and I believe that you have stayed while we were away. Unfortunately there has been some confusion from our motel minder. She has now been instructed to provide the extra plunger coffee when necessary. We certainly do not wish to appear stingy with that, and do our best to ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one. There was a temporary issue with the wifi not printing off the correct number of Megabites. This has now been resolved. We do offer unlimited wifi to our guests.
Yes, the Compact studio is as described, "Compact". Many of our guests find them the ideal when they are spending most of their day "out and about".We do however have other options.
Warm Regards Robyn and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

As my regular accommodation in Dunedin Bella Vista lived up to my regular expectations. John and Robyn are always friendly and as I was bit late in the evening the curtains were closed and heater on to take the chill off the room. The room was clean as always and well provisions. A pity I was too tired to enjoy the 50 sky channels and the bed so comfortable I slept very well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thanks very much for taking the time to review Bella Vista Dunedin! We really appreciate your return visits and are so glad that you find the rooms cosy and comfy and that the little extras like 50+ Sky and Free Wifi are appreciated! We look forward to seeing you again! Very sincerely Robyn and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Vickie and I always stay at bella vista,its close to city,and the lots of places to go visiting.
my daughter lives in duedin,so it gives us a break to escape from inves,we always stay
at bella vista,John and Robyn are very nice and including their staff.theres heaps of room
for parking.The rooms are great very clean and tidy,i couldn't say more.If any one visiting
Dunedin should stay at Bella Vista.Great place to stay.Everything is close buy,

Room Tip: they all are very nice rooms,I like the one with spa bath.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Om S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thanks so much for your very kind review! We are thrilled that you love staying at Bella Vista Motel Dunedin and that you find us very friendly.(we love the Motel business!). Glad you enjoy the Spa bath unit with its Super King Bed! We really appreciate your return visits. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#30 of 61 in Dunedin
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
288 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
292 reviews
0.7 mi away
315 Euro Motel
315 Euro Motel
#18 of 61 in Dunedin
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 61 in Dunedin
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Dunedin

Address: 704 Great King Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range: £66 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Dunedin 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Dunedin motel accommodation is a great spot from which to explore the city and the surrounding Otago region, in New Zealand's beautiful south. We realize you might have a limited time frame, so our systems are easy to ensure that you make the most of your hassle free stay. Your hosts, Robyn and Garry are warm, friendly and helpful. There is so much to see in and around Dunedin and they are more than happy to share all their knowledge and ideas. They want your stay to be enjoyable, whether its business or pleasure, so they will go the extra mile to ensure you have a great stay. If you'd like Robyn and Garry help you plan your Dunedin trip - you need only ask! Bella Vista Dunedin is centrally located and within walking distance to Restaurants,City Centre, the University of Otago, Otago Museum, Dunedin Hospital, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Logan Park, Alister McMiillan Hockey Turf and the Botanical Gardens and we are just a short drive from Mercy Hospital. Our motel-style accommodation comprises 16 superior suites, featuring one and two-bedroom motel units, with a comprehensive range of facilities. The self-contained, non-smoking suites are available in an assortment of configurations to suit families, corporate stays and travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bella Vista Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing