We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long walk to city centre/Octagon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Dunedin
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
“Long walk to city centre/Octagon”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I booked this room because of the price and good TA reviews. I arrived via Intercity Coach. I had initially told the manager I would take a taxi from the coach terminal, but the day before arrival I emailed and asked if someone from the motel could pick me up. (This was offered originally.) I didn't receive a reply to my email so I used the direct line taxi phone inside the bus terminal. (The bus terminal was moved to an inconvenient location outside the city center.) The fare to motel was about $10 NZ. No way would I have walked to motel (mostly uphill) pulling my small carry on. However, the motel was within walking distance of the wonderful botanical gardens, shopping and fast food restaurants.
The room was nice, with all the kitchen supplies I needed to fix my meals. The bed was comfy. A washcloth just for makeup removal was a nice touch. Free wifi always a plus. It was a little chilly in the room because A. the bathroom window didn't shut properly (there was a gap which let the cold air in and B. when returning late one evening, housekeeping had opened the room window, leaving the room quite cold. I'm sure they do this to clear the room of cooking odors, but I think they should wait until guest checks out. Fortunately, the heating unit worked well. The room door was a sliding glass door which meant you had to close the drapes for privacy and unless you reached in from outside upon leaving to close the drapes, your belongings in the room were visible to passersby. A slight inconvenience. Staff was professional but not overly friendly. See my photos for more room details. If you found my review helpful, please click on "yes." Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitchenchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    49
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
63
15
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
350 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Bella Vista in Dunedin and were very comfortable. The motel was as described and absolutley fine. Our only concern was the location... a bit out of the way with no restaurants in the vicinity... Clean and comfortable with guest laundry...
Okay stop on a road trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Sadly we stayed here just as the university students were coming back to town, and our time here was ruined by the parties and general noise coming from nearby houses. However we would stay here again, the room was nice if not on the small size, but the bed was comfy and the bedroom clean, there is also plenty of onsite parking. This motel is not centrally located so you cannot walk to the town, but there are shops and places to eat nearby if required. The owners are very nice people who had a lovely way about them.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandDinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thanks for taking time out to review your stay with us. We are glad that you found the room lovely and clean and the bed comfortable. Dunedin city is a University city so from time to time there is noisy, so apologies for any discomfort you may have experienced. We do provide complimentary ear plugs as a gesture for light sleepers. When I walk into the shops it takes me 10 minutes at a steady pace, ( an easy walk)so I'm sorry if that hadn't been explained to you on check in. Hope to see you sometime in the future. Robyn :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Wonderful people and always have a smile. Bela vista is always my first preference of stay in Dunedin. Thanks for the warm welcome always when arriving. Rooms are great and feels like home when staying. Have all u need and best of all the 50+ sky channels.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 690vaughnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thanks for your lovely review! We are pleased that you feel "at home" here at Bella Vista Dunedin. Warm Regards Robyn and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I had a couple of busy days in Dunedin with my 3 yr old daughter - the room was well equipped, warm, shower was lovely and bed was huge and comfortable. I'm very fussy on cleanliness and couldn't fault this room. Great car parking, reasonable room rate and close to uni and daughters hostel nearby uni - we'll be rebooking next year. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thanks for your kind review Charlotte!
We are thrilled that your stay was a nice one. Yes, the shower pressure is great! Mains fed! We get a lot of feedback about our comfortable beds, so glad that you liked them too. I will pass your comments on to our staff, because they are very fussy about their standards of cleanliness also and it's nice to have that acknowledged. :-) Glad you found our rates reasonable and the car parking very good. Happy holidays, and we look forward to seeing you again in the new year!
Sincerely Robyn and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed there in Sep 2013, the room was small and we can hardly move after putting our bags. The motel was located near fast food and pizza restaurant and a short drive away from the Dunedin University and train station.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accura_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your feedback and wish to let you know for future visits that we do have other larger options if our "Compact" studio doesn't suit? We are just one block away from the university of Otago, so you probably didn't need to drive.:-)
Hope to see you again sometime in the future
Kind Regards Robyn :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
205 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We are completing our third week in New Zealand so maybe I'm becoming too picky but this was a small room. In fact it is smallest of all the rooms we have stayed in. To be fair it was a "compact studio" which should have have set off bells. We stayed here two nights and the room was clean and the bed comfortable. When we checked in we were given a bottle of milk for our tea or coffee and shown to our room. Now after three weeks my wife has become adept at making plunger coffee. Their was a packet of plunger coffee supplied for the first morning which she used to make coffee. When we returned to our room later that day, besides the trash not being emptied, they had not replenished the plunger coffee packet. When I asked at the desk the lady told me that they only supply one packet and there would be a charge for any additional packets. This did not make sense to me because we were staying two nights. Other places we have stayed have always replenished the coffee packets each day. The other troublesome issue was the internet. We were given a slip of paper when we checked in with an access code and told we would receive 200 megabytes of data which was sufficient. When I logged in the first time there were only 63 megabytes remaining. When I brought this to the attention of the receptionist, she could not explain it and gave me another access code. When I logged in with this one the first time there were only 43 megabytes remaining. We just used what was available. The people we dealt with were friendly and I have no complaints there.

Room Tip: Don't book a compact studio. There are other choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellavistadunedin, Owner at Bella Vista Dunedin, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Hi
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. It sounds like your expectations were not met, as they should have been, and for this we are extremely sorry. From time to time we take a much needed break, and I believe that you have stayed while we were away. Unfortunately there has been some confusion from our motel minder. She has now been instructed to provide the extra plunger coffee when necessary. We certainly do not wish to appear stingy with that, and do our best to ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one. There was a temporary issue with the wifi not printing off the correct number of Megabites. This has now been resolved. We do offer unlimited wifi to our guests.
Yes, the Compact studio is as described, "Compact". Many of our guests find them the ideal when they are spending most of their day "out and about".We do however have other options.
Warm Regards Robyn and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Commodore Motel
Commodore Motel
#39 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#23 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.3 mi away
538 Great King Motel
538 Great King Motel
#15 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Dunedin

Property: Bella Vista Dunedin
Address: 704 Great King Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Dunedin 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Dunedin motel accommodation is a great spot from which to explore the city and the surrounding Otago, in New Zealand's beautiful south.We realize you might have a limited time frame, so our systems are easy to ensure that you make the most of your hassel free stay. Your hosts, John and Robyn are warm friendly and helpful. There is so much to see in and around Dunedin and they are more than happy to share all their knowledge and ideas. They want your stay to be enjoyable, whether its business or pleasure, so they will go the extra mile to ensure you have a great stay.If you'd like Robyn and John help you plan your Dunedin trip - you need only ask!Bella Vista Dunedin is centrally located and within walking distance to Restaurants,City Centre, the University of Otago, Otago Museum, Dunedin Hospital, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Logan Park, Alister McMiillan Hockey Turf and the Botanical Gardens and we are just a short drive from Mercy Hospital.Our motel-style accommodation comprises 16 superior suites, featuring one and two-bedroom motel units, with a comprehensive range of facilities. The self-contained, non-smoking suites are available in an assortment of configurations to suit families, corporate stays and travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing