We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Dunedin
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We recently stayed here for 8 nights and we found the service and facilities excellent for what we wanted. Staff were friendly, helpful, and the unit was serviced daily and cleaned. The shower was excellent and the bed was very comfortable. We appreciated being able to cook a light meal with the amenities if we wanted too. Wifi use was excellent as was the choice on Sky. Would recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    48
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
26
62
15
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I would say that compared to other Bella Vista's the Dunedin one could do with an injection of vigour from the owners! My reasons for saying that are based on the lack of niceties such as individual soaps in preference for a pump bottle in shower and by sink, no box of tissues, no separate shampoos or even a cookie with the coffee and tea. Wifi is however free to a certain limit which is more than you need for an evenings work. Breakfast is available to order, though I generally don't have this preferring to get something for myself. Rooms were comfortable and of usual Bella Vista décor. Handy to fast food outlets (Dominos, McDonalds. KFC) also a Thai restaurant or a pub. Is on a one-way system so check road map before driving there!

Room Tip: Upper level may save you from hearing other people's ablutions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diddicoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahia Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

another nice bella vista motel to stay at,good helpful people running it,so make sure you stay there.nice clean unit and free wifi.a pleasure to stay at and the weather was great.winter had not quite arrived,but did come later. but we were further up the island by then.dunedin is such a young people city with the university handy. johnmahia

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mahianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stay here regularly & the service is always at the same high standard. The rooms are kept clean & well maintained & they have more services available than a lot of the other Bella Vistas.(full sky in room, hot plate/ frypan for cooking)
I would def recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed here just for a night, I found the location was good, within walking distance to the places I'd planned to visit. Room was clean and warm, though a bit small, however the bed was comfortable - had a good night sleep. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balclutha, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We took the last motel in our price bracket we could find when we tried to book a room during a graduation weekend in Dunedin. The blurb on a number of sites told us we would get a small room and they were 100% correct, However, it was clean and warm and was perfectly fine for our planned one night visit. The motel staff we met were helpful and as much free internet as we wanted. The bed was fine and heating more than adequate for the small room. The motel even supplied earplugs as the room was on the one way system north but I certainly did not find the noise an issue - even not using the earplugs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
459 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

On the positive side, the motel was clean and tidy, and the staff were helpful. The bed was comfortable, and noise was minimal.
However, the units were showing their age, with cramped rooms, with the bed taking up most of the space. There were no cooking facilities apart from the microwave. We felt that the unit was rather overpriced for what it offered.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenorman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Commodore Motel
Commodore Motel
#38 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#25 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
538 Great King Motel
538 Great King Motel
#17 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Dunedin

Property: Bella Vista Dunedin
Address: 704 Great King Street North, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Dunedin 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Dunedin motel accommodation is a great spot from which to explore the city and the surrounding Otago, in New Zealand's beautiful south.We realize you might have a limited time frame, so our systems are easy to ensure that you make the most of your hassel free stay. Your hosts, John and Robyn are warm friendly and helpful. There is so much to see in and around Dunedin and they are more than happy to share all their knowledge and ideas. They want your stay to be enjoyable, whether its business or pleasure, so they will go the extra mile to ensure you have a great stay.If you'd like Robyn and John help you plan your Dunedin trip - you need only ask!Bella Vista Dunedin is centrally located and within walking distance to Restaurants,City Centre, the University of Otago, Otago Museum, Dunedin Hospital, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Logan Park, Alister McMiillan Hockey Turf and the Botanical Gardens and we are just a short drive from Mercy Hospital.Our motel-style accommodation comprises 16 superior suites, featuring one and two-bedroom motel units, with a comprehensive range of facilities. The self-contained, non-smoking suites are available in an assortment of configurations to suit families, corporate stays and travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing